Can I use a DX 80 SAS HDD into a DX 60 storage?

FibreCAT SX, FibreCAT NX, FibreCAT TX, ETERNUS DX, ETERNUS LT, ETERNUS CS

Moderator: ETERNUS Moderator Team

datakeeper
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2012 11:14
Product(s): Eternus, Prymergy, Esprimo, Lifebook

Can I use a DX 80 SAS HDD into a DX 60 storage?

Postby datakeeper » Tue Sep 25, 2018 18:43

Hello
I have and old Eternus DX 60 S2 System with two SAS 15k 600 GB 3.5" failed drives (Seagate ST3600057SS@GF0D). I only use this system for testing purpouses, so I don't want to spent too much money here.
I have found in Internet two second hand HDDs used into a Eternus DX 80 System. All is the same but the firmware verison. The DX 80 HDDs are GF0A version instead of GF0D.
I know that Fujitsu Eternus systems need special HDD's firmware versions, but taking into account that the two versions works in Eternus systems, I ask myself if the DX 80's HDDs could be used into the DX 60. Anyone knows?
Thanks in advance.

SadBuddah
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2019 18:55
Product(s): Eternus DX60

Re: Can I use a DX 80 SAS HDD into a DX 60 storage?

Postby SadBuddah » Tue Jun 25, 2019 15:54

Were you able to resolve your issue? I just inherited an old ETERNUS DX60 S2 and one of the drives went bad. From what I understand you can not simply replace the drives with the same drives from Seagate as they have a special firmware one them and I am having troubles finding the drives through regular channels.


Return to “Storage solutions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron