Upgrading a Lifebook AH531

Moderator: ModTeam

stepat80
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 04, 2017 22:12
Product(s): Fujitsu Lifebook A Series AH531 i3-2310M

Upgrading a Lifebook AH531

Postby stepat80 » Sat Apr 21, 2018 16:40

Hi,

Just wondering if I can get a bit of advice on upgrading my Lifebook AH531.

My Standard HDD failed and I’m thinking of replacing it with an SSD. As I’ve been poking around looking at where the hard drive is I found where the RAM and CPU go and it doesn’t seem too hard for a novice to replace. I’m thinking of replacing all 3 as they aren’t that expensive nowadays (except maybe the CPU).

Am I correct in thinking that the SSD only needs to be 2.5”. Something like a 250gb Samsung 850 or 860 Evo will work no problem?

Also with the RAM, as long as I match what the data sheet says is in it now (DDR3 1333Mhz) any memory will work? The max is 8gb according to the data sheet, is that per slot or in total as there are 2 slots?

And finally the CPU is a bit confusing as I found two similar data sheets, one for an AH531 and another for an “anti-glare” AH531. They’re almost identical data sheets but the list of CPUs differ on each.

Anti glare AH531 - https://sp.ts.fujitsu.com/dmsp/Publicat ... iglare.pdf

AH531 - https://sp.ts.fujitsu.com/dmsp/Publicat ... K-A531.pdf

Would an i7-2620M be fine just to put in or would I need to change the fan? My Lifebooks current CPU (i3-2310M) is only listed on the standard data sheet so I assume the i7 would fit as it’s listed on the same data sheet.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks

Steven
Fujitsu Lifebook A Series AH531 i3-2310M

Helga
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 3:55
Product(s): AMILO D-1840 (=entfallen)
aktuell:
Lifebook E-8110 (Win7x86/ULT)
Lifebook E-8420 (Nvd-Gfx, Win10x64/PRO)
Lifebook T935 (i-Gfx, Win10x64/Pro)
Location: DL

Re: Upgrading a Lifebook AH531

Postby Helga » Mon May 07, 2018 20:06

Hello Steven,

Your Lifebook max. RAM supported is 8 GByte (ref. datasheet. 2 x 4 GB DDR3L SODIMM per slot. "L" means 1,35/1,25 supply voltage instead of normally 1,5 volt without "L").

The designated Intel i7 2620M even supports totally 16 GB RAM (2 x 8 GB):
https://ark.intel.com/products/52231/In ... o-3_40-GHz

Also the current Intel:
https://ark.intel.com/products/52220/In ... q=i3-2310M

See intel-compare, the i7 benefits from turbo-boost and vPro (= iAMT = Intel Management Engine), assumed further Lifebook components supporting this function!

https://ark.intel.com/compare/52220,52231



SSD Samsung EVO 850 or 860 is ok (2,5" style).


Try this helpfull Advisor Tool resp. Crucial System Scanner Tool:

http://www.crucial.com/usa/en/upgrades? ... rades-home

Download and launch, then get clear advise (conservative advise) which RAM and SSD fits your Lifebook. This is not a spyware.

Would an i7-2620M be fine just to put in or would I need to change the fan? My Lifebooks current CPU (i3-2310M) is only listed on the standard data sheet so I assume the i7 would fit as it’s listed on the same data sheet.


You assume correct. And surely no need to change the fan. Have upgraded frequently notebooks (RAM and CPU upgrade) and never ever need to change the fan therefore.

Start with RAM and SSD upgrade. Cpu upgrade after this, this is at least important.

Some tips:

Try software HWINFO64 (or HWINFO32) with your Lifebook AH531, click on "Summary".

Get informed about anti-static precautions:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yINFEjyZ0Xk

(Why You Should Use a Anti-Static Wrist Band and Anti-Static Mat)

GOOD LUCK!
:)

Helga
Fakten Fakten Fakten - und immer an den User denken!

daroca
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 15:12
Product(s): Fujitsu Lifebook E756, Linux Mint 18.3, 1TB SSD, 2TB HDD, 32GB RAM, upgraded display from 1360x768 to 1920x1080
Fujitsu Lifebook E754, Linux Mint Cinnamon 19, 1TB SSD, 2TB HDD, 16 GB RAM, upgraded display from 1360x768 to 1920x1080
Fujitsu Lifebook AH531/GFO, Linux Mint 18.3, upgraded to 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD, 16GB RAM, i7-2670QM CPU, Intel Wireless 3160

Re: Upgrading a Lifebook AH531

Postby daroca » Tue Jun 26, 2018 10:03

I wrote it elsewhere in this forum already, I upgraded my AH531/GFO to 16GB RAM (2x8GB) and a 256 GB SSD. That resulted in a significant boost of performance. Swapping the processor, you probably wouldn't notice any difference.

[EDIT:] @stepat80, the Intel data sheet for your current CPU confirms it is also able to handle 16 GB of RAM https://ark.intel.com/en/products/52220/Intel-Core-i3-2310M-Processor-3M-Cache-2_10-GHz.
And I correct myself, having compared the i3-2310M data sheet with the i7-2620M one (https://ark.intel.com/en/products/52231/Intel-Core-i7-2620M-Processor-4M-Cache-up-to-3_40-GHz) , an upgrade could make sense (2.1 GHz vs. 2.7/3.4 GHz). Both CPUs are 35W TDP, so should do with the same cooler.
You can find a comparison between the i3-2310M, i5-2410M, i7-2620M and the i7-2640M (is listed in a later AH531 datasheet, too) CPUs here: https://ark.intel.com/compare/52220,52224,52231,53464
Last edited by daroca on Wed Aug 01, 2018 13:19, edited 6 times in total.

TimInCleveland
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2018 22:16
Product(s): UH572

Re: Upgrading a Lifebook AH531

Postby TimInCleveland » Wed Jul 25, 2018 4:59

daroca, you put 16 gb of ram into a system that takes a maximum of 8? All 16 show up in Windows? Are you positive the system uses all of it?
I have the UH572 which lists a max ram of 8 yet the processor (64 bit Intel® Core™ i5-3317U) lists 32 gb as its maximum and the 64 bit operating system can also utilize 18gb or more - so I'm wondering if I can get good results too.

daroca
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 15:12
Product(s): Fujitsu Lifebook E756, Linux Mint 18.3, 1TB SSD, 2TB HDD, 32GB RAM, upgraded display from 1360x768 to 1920x1080
Fujitsu Lifebook E754, Linux Mint Cinnamon 19, 1TB SSD, 2TB HDD, 16 GB RAM, upgraded display from 1360x768 to 1920x1080
Fujitsu Lifebook AH531/GFO, Linux Mint 18.3, upgraded to 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD, 16GB RAM, i7-2670QM CPU, Intel Wireless 3160

Re: Upgrading a Lifebook AH531

Postby daroca » Wed Aug 01, 2018 9:27

@TimInCleveland, affirmative. I know the AH531 datasheets state a max RAM size of 4GB, and a max capacity of 8GB. According to the Intel datasheet, the processor supports 16GB of RAM.

I did a bit of internet research, and found one single forum article on the net written by somebody who successfully installed 2x8GB RAM on an AH531, so I decided to give it a try, and it worked. On both machines the 16GB are listed in the BIOS. Apparently the 8GB RAM limit is per slot.

Now I have an AH531 running Linux Mint 18.3 and another (long story, don't ask!) on Windows 7, both with 16 GB RAM. This is the Linux machine:

Image

Image

And this is the Windows 7 machine:

Image

Image

And here is the result of a Phoronix Test Suite run I ran today, it also shows the 16GB RAM: https://openbenchmarking.org/result/1808017-KH-MEMORYTES74

It appears to be an undocumented feature of the AH531. Not sure if it works with yours, though, but it might.

My next plans are to upgrade the CPU from an i5-2410M to an i7-2620M (ordered it yesterday), and a display upgrade to 1920x1080 is also on the way. I found one that might work, should be here today. I'll keep you posted on success or failure.

Mumbo
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2018 15:47
Product(s): Lifebook SH531

Re: Upgrading a Lifebook AH531

Postby Mumbo » Mon Aug 27, 2018 10:19

I have read with interest the information about 16 gb ram in a ah531 lifebook.
Having been given a SH531 with 4 gb ram i want to try for 16 gb. Can you please post the details of the specific memory modules that you have used so I can try and get hold of an identical match.

daroca
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 15:12
Product(s): Fujitsu Lifebook E756, Linux Mint 18.3, 1TB SSD, 2TB HDD, 32GB RAM, upgraded display from 1360x768 to 1920x1080
Fujitsu Lifebook E754, Linux Mint Cinnamon 19, 1TB SSD, 2TB HDD, 16 GB RAM, upgraded display from 1360x768 to 1920x1080
Fujitsu Lifebook AH531/GFO, Linux Mint 18.3, upgraded to 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD, 16GB RAM, i7-2670QM CPU, Intel Wireless 3160

Re: Upgrading a Lifebook AH531

Postby daroca » Mon Aug 27, 2018 16:23

Hi Mumbo,
memtest says they are
8192 MB DDR3-1600 Kingston 99U5428-018.A00LF
. The other pair is labelled
Hynix 8GB Rx8 PC3L - 12800S - 11 - 13 - F3
. And I tested a third brand in the 531 which was labelled
8GB DDR3 2Rx8 12800S 1600MHz Samsung
.
I wasn't actually worried when buying the RAM, just bought the cheapest I could find on Ebay, and they worked, I guess the AH531 is quite promiscuous with RAM.

EDIT: I just googled the differences between AH531 and SH 531. The forum (in German) said the difference is in size (SH=13.3'', LH=14'', AH=15.6''), but the other technical components such as mainboards and processors are identical https://forum.chip.de/discussion/1580464/unterschied-zwischen-fujitsu-lifebook-ah531-und-lh531. Makes me even more optimistic about your RAM upgrade.

Cheers,

Thorsten
Last edited by daroca on Tue Aug 28, 2018 1:19, edited 1 time in total.

daroca
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 15:12
Product(s): Fujitsu Lifebook E756, Linux Mint 18.3, 1TB SSD, 2TB HDD, 32GB RAM, upgraded display from 1360x768 to 1920x1080
Fujitsu Lifebook E754, Linux Mint Cinnamon 19, 1TB SSD, 2TB HDD, 16 GB RAM, upgraded display from 1360x768 to 1920x1080
Fujitsu Lifebook AH531/GFO, Linux Mint 18.3, upgraded to 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD, 16GB RAM, i7-2670QM CPU, Intel Wireless 3160

Re: Upgrading a Lifebook AH531

Postby daroca » Mon Aug 27, 2018 16:48

Update on the screen upgrade (1366x768 to 1920x1080) of the AH531: I found one that looks compatible, bought a 40Pin 2Channel 6Bit cable (original cable is 1Channel), but the connector on the mainboard side didn't fit.
Re-soldering the cables might be an option, but then again - not for me. I abandoned the screen upgrade for the moment. But if anybody would like to share a source for a 40-pin 2-channel 6-bit cable that connects to the 531's mainboard and has a 40-pin connector on the other side I'd give it another try. Even if I lost the webcam and microphone, I wouldn't mind.

The only other thing I did was to replace the i5-2410m with an i7-2640m (latest CPU mentioned in one of the articles above). Definitely another improvement but subjectively not half as much as upgrading the RAM from 8GB to 16GB.

It's quite an old work horse (bought in early 2011), but maxed out as it is now, it is still running along quite nicely with the field. I would like to think :D

daroca
Posts: 12
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2018 15:12
Product(s): Fujitsu Lifebook E756, Linux Mint 18.3, 1TB SSD, 2TB HDD, 32GB RAM, upgraded display from 1360x768 to 1920x1080
Fujitsu Lifebook E754, Linux Mint Cinnamon 19, 1TB SSD, 2TB HDD, 16 GB RAM, upgraded display from 1360x768 to 1920x1080
Fujitsu Lifebook AH531/GFO, Linux Mint 18.3, upgraded to 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD, 16GB RAM, i7-2670QM CPU, Intel Wireless 3160

Re: Upgrading a Lifebook AH531

Postby daroca » Sat Sep 15, 2018 16:47

Update: I replaced the CPU again, swapped the dual-core i7-2640M with a quad-core i7-2670QM.
Again, this is outside the specs of the official data sheets, but I just did a quick test run: It works!
So far so good.
I know the i7-2670QM pulls 45W instead of the 35W of the i7-2640M, and I just noticed the heat spreader on the back of the QM is larger than the one on the M, so overheating may be a problem when running constantly. I may have to mod the cooler some time later.

Edit #1: I had a brief test run with a couple of videos running simultaneously for about 30 minutes on an external Iiyama 3070WQS screen with 2560 x 1600 resolution. The CPU temperature went just above 80°C without cooler mod. Looks good, so the cooler mod might be a simple one.

Edit #2: And again, yes I know I am running the AH531 beyond its specs. The data sheet says

Max. resolution external display 1920 x 1200 pixel
.

With Linux I can make it use the external display on HDMI at 2560 x 1600 with xrandr, albeit at a frequency of 30 Hz. It took me a while to figure out the details but I played around with RandR and read through quite a bit of documentation and it works reliably.

I simply love this machine...

Helga
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 3:55
Product(s): AMILO D-1840 (=entfallen)
aktuell:
Lifebook E-8110 (Win7x86/ULT)
Lifebook E-8420 (Nvd-Gfx, Win10x64/PRO)
Lifebook T935 (i-Gfx, Win10x64/Pro)
Location: DL

Re: Upgrading a Lifebook AH531

Postby Helga » Thu Dec 06, 2018 4:01

Finde ich klasse, wenn user ihre eigenen Erfahrungen mit den Geräten so ausführlich posten, danke! Leider besitze ich kein AH/SH/LH531 - aber was nicht ist, kann ja noch werden.... :)
Fakten Fakten Fakten - und immer an den User denken!


Return to “LIFEBOOK”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests