Problems winth 3tb hard disk on SERVER PRIMERGY TX100 S2

PRIMERGY, SPARC Enterprise Server, PRIMEFLEX, PRIMEPower, BS2000

Moderator: ModTeam

Alberto1234
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 8:52
Product(s): SERVER PRIMERGY TX100 S2

Problems winth 3tb hard disk on SERVER PRIMERGY TX100 S2

Postby Alberto1234 » Mon Apr 09, 2018 9:44

Hi, my operating system is installed on two 500 gb hard drives in raid 1. I have now installed two 3 tb hard drives that I want to put in raid 1 as an archive to be shared on the network. The problem is that from the controller the disks are seen as 800 gb, I updated the bios of the mainboard but does not change. Are there any other ways to solve the problem? I called Fujitsu but they do not give me assistance.
Thank you

Davie
Posts: 551
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2005 0:01
Product(s): PRIMERGY, ServerView
Location: UK

Re: Problems winth 3tb hard disk on SERVER PRIMERGY TX100 S2

Postby Davie » Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:00

The largest hard disks supported by this server is 2Tb. The last BIOS update for the TX100 S2 was nearly 6 years old (shows how old the server is) - so no, I suspect there is nothing you can do apart from buy authorised 2Tb disks instead

Alberto1234
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 8:52
Product(s): SERVER PRIMERGY TX100 S2

Re: Problems winth 3tb hard disk on SERVER PRIMERGY TX100 S2

Postby Alberto1234 » Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:49

Alternatively, what could I do to solve the problem? these possibilities are inexhaustible, but I don't know if they are possible and what would be the best:
1. manage the raid via windows? in theory this version should support hard drives above 2 tb
2. look for a controller update only because the bios firmware has not been updated anymore
3. install an external controller to the motherboard with pci board

Davie
Posts: 551
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2005 0:01
Product(s): PRIMERGY, ServerView
Location: UK

Re: Problems winth 3tb hard disk on SERVER PRIMERGY TX100 S2

Postby Davie » Mon Apr 09, 2018 11:00

1. What theory? As I previously said this server only supports up to 2Tb disks
2. The controller is an integral part of the motherboard so the controller update would be included in the BIOS firmware. As stated this server is OLD so no more updates will be available
3. There is a certified PCI RAID controller available for this server (D2616) - but you would still be on your own trying 3Tb disks on it. It may work, it may not. But it's not supported so buyer beware

Alberto1234
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 8:52
Product(s): SERVER PRIMERGY TX100 S2

Re: Problems winth 3tb hard disk on SERVER PRIMERGY TX100 S2

Postby Alberto1234 » Mon Apr 09, 2018 11:55

for point 1 I meant that reading on the internet other people who had the same problem that the controller saw 3b disks as if they were 800gb, with windows they formatted in gpt the disks and after that they could see them with full 3 tb. Then mirrored the disks from windows disk management. Am I wrong maybe?

Alberto1234
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 8:52
Product(s): SERVER PRIMERGY TX100 S2

Re: Problems winth 3tb hard disk on SERVER PRIMERGY TX100 S2

Postby Alberto1234 » Mon Apr 09, 2018 16:58

Can someone help me? :?


Return to “Server Products”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest