memory in esprimo p2510

Moderator: ModTeam

castigers99
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 15:55
Product(s): fujitsu siemens esprimo p2510

memory in esprimo p2510

Postby castigers99 » Fri Mar 02, 2012 10:44

hi there

i am trying to upgrade my p2510 to 2gb ram as fujitsu suggests we can do. but any time i insert two 1gb chips, the pc wont boot. works fine with 256 in and a 1gb and a 256, but not with two 1gbs and either 1gb on there own.

does anyone know anything about these pcs?

thanks in advance

gary

me@work
Posts: 894
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 15:32
Product(s): Scaleo Pi2662, Primergy

Re: memory in esprimo p2510

Postby me@work » Fri Mar 02, 2012 13:40

One possible explanation could be that the identification chip (aka SPD) on the new modules does not provide useful timing information for BIOS's intialization routines.

When BIOS finds 1ea. 1GB and 1ea. 256MB (assumed original equipment with correct timing information), it adopts to the information from the 256MB module. But with only the 1GB modules installed, it doesn't know how to handle it properly.

Perhaps a BIOS update could help, or different 1GB modules.

castigers99
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 29, 2012 15:55
Product(s): fujitsu siemens esprimo p2510

Re: memory in esprimo p2510

Postby castigers99 » Mon Mar 05, 2012 10:26

hi, thanks for the reply

i have tried a bios update, and have 4 1gb modules that i have rotated round and tested, but still get the same problem!!

it doesnt make sense to me why there is an issue.

do you have any other suggestions, i know its not ideal with the age of the pcs, but the upgrades are to get navision working, do you know whether that works with 1.25gb?

thanks

gary

me@work
Posts: 894
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 15:32
Product(s): Scaleo Pi2662, Primergy

Re: memory in esprimo p2510

Postby me@work » Mon Mar 05, 2012 11:13

I'm sorry, but I can't advice on Navision. You will have to try yourself, or contact the manufacturer of the software product.

Why unknown memory modules might be an issue for the BIOS, I tried to explain in my last reply. If the BIOS does not know how to handle them properly, and does not offer a "to-be-on-the-safe-side" catch-all setting for unknown devices, then it simply cannot operate these modules...

vjpogi
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jul 30, 2012 8:57
Product(s): Esprimo P2510

Re: memory in esprimo p2510

Postby vjpogi » Fri Aug 03, 2012 9:25

Is your memory meets the frequency of your motherboard?

Your motherboard I think is a ddr2 400/533 FSB


Return to “ESPRIMO”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests