fujitsu s6120d no operating system found

Moderator: ModTeam HU

totomittow
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 5:36
Product(s): s6120d lifebook

fujitsu s6120d no operating system found

Postby totomittow » Wed Feb 02, 2011 15:53

hi everyone
I have an unusual problem, i have a fujitsu lifebook s6120d, just did a clean instal of windows xp, two memory fitted 1gb on one slot and 256 on the other, 60gb hard drive

the problem is everytime i restart, through windows or when instaling a program that requires a restart, it shuts down ok but comes up with" no operating system found" if i physicaly switch it off and back on by pressing the on/off button, it starts ok.
i have to do this everytime it needs to restart or it wont come on!!
Funny enough i tried ubuntu on the machine but didnt have these problems but i would rather keep xp
please help


toto

User avatar
sabrex
Posts: 1145
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 0:01
Product(s): Various
Location: England
Contact:

Re: fujitsu s6120d no operating system found

Postby sabrex » Wed Feb 02, 2011 16:16

just to test can you press Pause/Break at the splash screen (this pauses the boot)
Wait 10 secs then press Pgdn key to continue , does it then boot into windows?

totomittow
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 5:36
Product(s): s6120d lifebook

Re: fujitsu s6120d no operating system found

Postby totomittow » Thu Feb 03, 2011 14:02

hi sabrex
i tried that it didnt work, infact it wont boot at all today ! in bios its giving the wrong volume of the hard drive with exlamation marks
i tried reinstalling windows but it wont let me , gives the hardrive capasity as 68602mb (its a 60gb harddrive)
ive tried a different harddrive but same results

User avatar
sabrex
Posts: 1145
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 0:01
Product(s): Various
Location: England
Contact:

Re: fujitsu s6120d no operating system found

Postby sabrex » Thu Feb 03, 2011 15:36

Ah
I figured maybe the hdd wasnt spinning up in time so looks like controller messed up on the hdd reading on both hdd. Could try entering BIOS and checking what the mode is set to ie: AHCI or native (if its ahci maybe thats the problem)


Return to “Lifebook notebook”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests