FibreCat SX-80 - after voume expansion

Moderator: ETERNUS Moderator Team

MarkM
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 14:25
Product(s): fibrecat sx-80
7TB storage

FibreCat SX-80 - after voume expansion

Postby MarkM » Thu Apr 30, 2009 8:50

hi folks,

i recently "expanded" a volume from 700mb to 1tb.

The action appeared to happen almost straight away although i did expect delays while the volume expanded.

However on the server which is connected to the volume is still reads as the old volume size.

How can i get this to read correct without affectong existing data?

Assumedly i have to reconfigure the lun on the SX80?

Any help would be great thanks.

FSC830
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 10:07
Product(s): Pocket Loox T830

Re: FibreCat SX-80 - after voume expansion

Postby FSC830 » Thu Apr 30, 2009 9:28

Hi,
this "works as designed". Expanding the volume of a sx80 dont change anything on exsistent lun. You need to expand the lun also.
But, depending on the software you use (SAM or Spheras) this depends if the lun to expand is the last one or not.
Anyhow, expanding the lun does not change the filesystem size the server reports. Last you need an OS component to enlarge the filesystem (i.e. diskpart for Windows or a locigal volume manager for unix systems).
Expanding the lun for Windows system results in diskmanager in that way that a large disk is seen, containing a partition with the old size of your lun and the rest is reported as "unused space".

Regards

MarkM
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 14:25
Product(s): fibrecat sx-80
7TB storage

Re: FibreCat SX-80 - after voume expansion

Postby MarkM » Fri May 01, 2009 10:35

hi ,

on this disk there are two volumes of which the one i expanded is the last one.

do i need to unmap and remap the LUN (or use Update on "Manage Host List") ?

and then perform volume expand using a windows tool on the server? (using something like partition manager etc)


actually DiskMAnager in windows says that that space is already there "unused" therefore i'm guessing i only have to do the Windows Partition manager part?

thanks again...

FSC830
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 10:07
Product(s): Pocket Loox T830

Re: FibreCat SX-80 - after voume expansion

Postby FSC830 » Mon May 04, 2009 7:34

Hi,

if the WIndows diskmanager shows already "unused space" at the end of your partition you just need to run diskpart - select disk # (your disk) - list volume - select volume # (your volume) - extend - exit.
Your drive is than extended with the unused space.

Regards

MarkM
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 14:25
Product(s): fibrecat sx-80
7TB storage

Re: FibreCat SX-80 - after voume expansion

Postby MarkM » Mon May 11, 2009 9:10

worked great ..thanks guys


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests