[v5535] adding memory

Moderator: ModTeam

bobgarb
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 17:06
Product(s): FUJITSU SIEMENS ESPRIMO V5535

[v5535] adding memory

Postby bobgarb » Fri Apr 25, 2008 17:10

hi there,

Just purchased the notebook from ebuyer was given a free extra 1 gig of memory, could you pleease explain how to install it?

I'm used to dells!

ally1968
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 20:54
Product(s): esprimo mobile v5535

Re: adding memory esprimo v5535

Postby ally1968 » Fri Apr 25, 2008 21:12

click the link to cruicial.com website it gives instructions on how to insert. I bought some of their website this week and it took less than 5 minutes to install by following their instructions.click the boxin the top right corner

http://www.crucial.com/uk/store/listmod ... ll&cat=RAM

jazzyb88
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 11:08
Product(s): Esprimo Mobile V5505 / C2D T7300 4MB / 2GB DDR2 / WD 250GB / Intel X3100 / Vista (Home Premium) w/SP1
Location: United Kingdom

Re: adding memory esprimo v5535

Postby jazzyb88 » Sat Apr 26, 2008 14:14

eBuyer didn't fit it as standard? :shock: I am quite surprised by that because not every user will know how to fiddle about with their laptop so offering 1gb of RAM that isn't already fitted is a little cheeky.

bobgarb
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 17:06
Product(s): FUJITSU SIEMENS ESPRIMO V5535

Re: adding memory esprimo v5535

Postby bobgarb » Sat Apr 26, 2008 16:03

Yes it is a bit of a pain, still I suppose it's Free memory, I think I will ditch the Vista though and load up the XP Pro, machine seems very slow running Vista, could dual boot I suppose!

bobgarb
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 17:06
Product(s): FUJITSU SIEMENS ESPRIMO V5535

Re: adding memory esprimo v5535

Postby bobgarb » Sat Apr 26, 2008 16:09

Looking at the manual I have to take the fours screws from the main compartment on the back of the laptop

jazzyb88
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 11:08
Product(s): Esprimo Mobile V5505 / C2D T7300 4MB / 2GB DDR2 / WD 250GB / Intel X3100 / Vista (Home Premium) w/SP1
Location: United Kingdom

Re: adding memory esprimo v5535

Postby jazzyb88 » Sat Apr 26, 2008 16:48

Yes, removing the rear panel will allow access to the memory slots which are centre-top of the laptop. On the Vista front, i suggest you give it a go and update to SP1 as soon as you can. That has helped with performance but also, you can turn off a lot of unnecessary services Vista boots as standard, optimise startup/registry using certain software and possibly disable the transparency effect and other pointless animations (e.g. combo-box) to save more of the CPU.

I say this because loading XP will be more of a pain because you'll need SATA drivers and the only way XP setup allows for third-party drivers is from a floppy drive...which you obviously don't have so you'll have to slipstream the drivers into a new copy of XP to get around this. :wink:

bobgarb
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 17:06
Product(s): FUJITSU SIEMENS ESPRIMO V5535

Re: adding memory esprimo v5535

Postby bobgarb » Sat Apr 26, 2008 19:45

thanks for all the information, I'm a bit worried about removing the four screws they seem to be of soft metal, although they look like normal cross head, will pluck up some courage and have another go. Installing xp was a breeze, only needed to run windows update for the sound drivers otherwise it worked out of the box, the PC runs a lot faster too, may re-install vista in the future though.

Cheers, Bob

jazzyb88
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 11:08
Product(s): Esprimo Mobile V5505 / C2D T7300 4MB / 2GB DDR2 / WD 250GB / Intel X3100 / Vista (Home Premium) w/SP1
Location: United Kingdom

Re: adding memory esprimo v5535

Postby jazzyb88 » Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:46

Well as long as you have a good quality screwdriver, there shouldn't be any problem in removing those screws. Just make sure you rest the notebook on a soft surface such a bed. Even if they perish a little, i'm sure you can find replacements easily enough! :wink:

bobgarb
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 17:06
Product(s): FUJITSU SIEMENS ESPRIMO V5535

Re: [v5535] adding memory

Postby bobgarb » Mon Apr 28, 2008 18:07

Have tried again to remove the screws, they seems very tight, I also think it would have been better if they had used tempered screws and not the light metal flimsy ones! Will have another go, but don't want to mess up the laptop!

jazzyb88
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 11:08
Product(s): Esprimo Mobile V5505 / C2D T7300 4MB / 2GB DDR2 / WD 250GB / Intel X3100 / Vista (Home Premium) w/SP1
Location: United Kingdom

Re: [v5535] adding memory

Postby jazzyb88 » Wed Apr 30, 2008 0:59

Hi Bob,

I suggest you contact FS to see whether upgrading the RAM yourself will still cover you under warranty. You should also tell eBuyer you are not happy fitting the RAM yourself and either they do it for you or pay for it to be done by FS. I do feel it is unfair for them to expect you to be able to replace it yourself and can fully understand your situation.

If you are brave enough, however, then have a go!


Return to “ESPRIMO Mobile”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron