m460 microcode error...

Moderator: ModTeam

ime021
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 10:14
Product(s): desktop celsius m460 workstation (vista bussines),
serial no: yk7t020188,
MAINBOARD D2608-A1x

m460 microcode error...

Postby ime021 » Wed Jul 25, 2012 23:17

...hi,
...first of all my regards to all people here, asking question and answering them.
I have myself a little problem. I own celsius m460, with d2608-a1 mainboard.
The machine originally came with e8300 cpu, but recently a got myself q9550 cpu.
The problem is that, upon installation of cpu (q9550-which is officially supported), on startup i get something
like "no suitable microcode" error - cant remember exactly.
System boots on, but fans are spinning like crazy, and I am forced to turn the computer of,
because i don't wont to risk damaging my PC.
I did upgrade bios to the most recent version (6.00.1.12), but the results were the same.
Q9550 cpu has the following specs:

Specifications:
==============
Processor Number: Q9550
# of Cores: 4
# of Threads: 4
Clock Speed: 2.83 GHz
L2 Cache: 12 MB
Bus/Core Ratio: 8.5
FSB Speed: 1333 MHz
Instruction Set: 64-bit
Lithography: 45 nm
Max TDP: 95 W
VID Voltage Range: 0.8500V-1.3625V
Processor core: Yorkfield
stepping: A
revision: E0
SLB8V (Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550)

I`ve read that there is some "service bios" that could, maby, solve my problem, but cant find it to download.
I hope that you can help me. Thanks in advance for your time and trouble.

...cheers...:)

User avatar
sabrex
Posts: 1145
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 0:01
Product(s): Various
Location: England
Contact:

Re: m460 microcode error...

Postby sabrex » Thu Jul 26, 2012 8:53

hi
Its likely this: Patch for installed CPU not loaded. Please run the BIOS flash update disk, press F1 to resume
This message usually occurs after a CPU replacement, the motherboard does not recognise the stepping of the new CPU. You need to run a microcode update, this patch can be downloaded from typing in the Quicksearch box: "microcode" here http://support.ts.fujitsu.com/Download
*correction latest is MICROCODE UPDATE VER.2.00 REL 1.24 (PROMICRO) V2.00 R1.24
1,49 MB
Once downloaded double click the "exe" file and it will create a bootable floppy disk. Boot from this disk to perform the update. I think the m460 has a floppy drive so it should be straight forward.

It also possible the bios 6.00.1.12 for your machine will also include the microcode.
biosversion.jpg
biosversion.jpg (7.63 KiB) Viewed 23621 times
but i see you are already on the latest bios*

hope this helps. The microcode update is for all Fujitsu mobo's
**I have edited my post based on your reply below**
Last edited by sabrex on Fri Jul 27, 2012 10:54, edited 5 times in total.

ime021
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 10:14
Product(s): desktop celsius m460 workstation (vista bussines),
serial no: yk7t020188,
MAINBOARD D2608-A1x

Re: m460 microcode error...

Postby ime021 » Thu Jul 26, 2012 22:03

...hi,
thanks for your swift reply...:)
I posted image with info about cpu startup state (both e8300 and q9550), and ful bios info screen.
The link that you supplied goes to a "no results find" page. When i type "microcode 2.00" in quick search box
there are several results, that doesn't specify for which mobo is it meant.
Im reluctant to use something that is not clearly defined for my mobo.
Maybe this additional info would help you diagnose my problem...thanks
Attachments
all.jpg
all.jpg (815.35 KiB) Viewed 23610 times

User avatar
sabrex
Posts: 1145
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 0:01
Product(s): Various
Location: England
Contact:

Re: m460 microcode error...

Postby sabrex » Fri Jul 27, 2012 9:29

its for all fujitsu mobo

What is a Microcode Update?
A system is working best when the configuration of all components is optimised.
Therefore Intel has included a feature with the
processors of the P6 family (starting with the Pentium Pro) that allows the
command set (microcode) of the processor to be updated. That way, smaller bugs can be fixed and performance improvements
installed without having to change the hardware.

Reasons for Updating the Microcode
To achieve best performance and ensure correct operation, microcode update with
each BIOS update is recommended. Intel refers to running a processor without a microcode update as ”operating out of
specification”.

Processor Security on Fujitsu Siemens Computers Mainboards
To protect the processor against operation with old or wrong microcode, Fujitsu
Siemens Computers mainboards feature a function that interrupts the boot process if no matching microcode is available
for the installed processor. An error message is displayed, saying ”Patch for installed CPU not loaded. Please run the bios flash
update diskette”. The user has to confirm this
by pressing F1. If the computer is nevertheless operated without a microcode
update, error -free operation cannot be guaranteed.
Other mainboard vendors do not care about a missing microcode. There is neither a hint nor an error message.
Before a microcode update is released it has been tested and certified in the
Fujitsu Siemens Computers labs. A signature is added that allows the BIOS to detect whether this update is approved for the installed processor. That way, only tested
microcode updates that were developed especially for this processor are installed. This ensures that the processor is always operating with the latest and correct microcode.

When should the Microcode be Updated?
The microcode should be updated in the following situations:
When you install a new processorWhen flashing the BIOS (usually performed automatically)
The microcode should be updated after a BIOS Flash and prior to installing an operating system.
Technical Background
When updating the microcode, an update to the command set for the processor is
loaded into a reserved area into the BIOS.
With every boot, the BIOS loads the current microcode into the processor during
the Power On Self Test (POST).
If the BIOS fails to recognize the processor or cannot supply a matching
microcode it displays an error message (”Patch for
installed CPU not loaded. Please run the bios flash update diskette.”) that the
user must confirm with the F1 key. In this case,
the processor operates with the original command set.
Performing the microcode update will detect the installed processor and load the
corresponding microcode into the BIOS so that
it will be available the next time the system boots. For space reasons, the BIOS
cannot store the matching microcode for all processors.


So all your machine is doing is powering on self testing and checking the microcode for e8300 cpu and finding a different processor it doesnt have the stepping for.

ime021
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 10:14
Product(s): desktop celsius m460 workstation (vista bussines),
serial no: yk7t020188,
MAINBOARD D2608-A1x

Re: m460 microcode error...

Postby ime021 » Fri Jul 27, 2012 15:15

...thanks for your reply....will try this and report back...cheers:)

ime021
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 10:14
Product(s): desktop celsius m460 workstation (vista bussines),
serial no: yk7t020188,
MAINBOARD D2608-A1x

Re: m460 microcode error...

Postby ime021 » Sat Jul 28, 2012 19:23

...Just a quick followup...did what you instructed me to do:
-downloaded "http://support.ts.fujitsu.com/Download/ShowDescription.asp?SoftwareGUID=9B9B360E-DD12-4A4D-87D3-E5BCC25BBAA7&Info=FTS"
-with this made bootup floppy disk
-booted up my pc from floppy, and then he did all the rest.

my q9550 is now recognized...:-)

...thank you very much...cheers..:)

User avatar
sabrex
Posts: 1145
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 0:01
Product(s): Various
Location: England
Contact:

Re: m460 microcode error...

Postby sabrex » Mon Jul 30, 2012 8:26

Good job :mrgreen:


Return to “CELSIUS Workstations”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest