[XI1546] Upgrade to 4GB HEEEELP !!!

Moderator: ModTeam

User avatar
Bjornski1976
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 14:40
Product(s): Fujitsu-Siemens Amilo Xi1546, Intel Core 2 Duo T5600, 17" WXGA Display, ATI HD4670, Adata 4GB DDR2 PC2-5300, 2 x 120GB Raid 0. Windows 7 64bit, Bios Alienware 1.19w, ATI Catalist 10.8
Location: The Netherlands

Re: [XI1546] Upgrade to 4GB HEEEELP !!!

Postby Bjornski1976 » Tue Sep 07, 2010 20:45

Hi Azcelkri,

System:
Fujitsu-Siemens Amilo Xi1546 with Alienware bios 1.19 (dd. 01/08/07). This converts the motherboard to an Alienware P72IN1. without this Alienware bios upgrade more then 2GB of memory will not be recognized in any OS. This is a restriction of the bios.
Chipset is Intel 945PM (Catistoga-PM)+ICH7-M/U.
Memory details are: DDR2-SDRAM PC2-5300, 2 x 2GB from A-Data Technology SCOPE1B163BZ, Total size 4GB. Clock 332.5MHz=2.00x166.2 MHz in mode Dual-channel Interleaved. Timings tCL 5.0,
tRCD 5, tRP 5, tRAS 15. Voltage is 1.8Vdc.

The ATI HD4670 (M96XT) details are: PCIe v2.0x16 (2.5Gb/s)@x16 (2.5Gb/s).
Memory 1024MB DDR2 SDRAM 128-bit. Clock speed 200.0 MHz.

I haven't try out the DVI connection yet so I have no answere on the question. Perhaps I get time this weekend to find out if analog digital and digital with DHCP is working.

The heatsink had to be modified. First the area for the DC coil had to be made bigger and deaper, see. Notice the black market area that needs to be cut away and then the whole area must be deeped out.
IMG_7691-2.jpg
IMG_7691-2.jpg (716.63 KiB) Viewed 7463 times

Second but most important the spring that was used to thigthen the x1800 card must be bend away from the DC coil. I bended it because when cutting it away you have no change to use the old x1800 card when things don't work out well.
Let the future rise spaceman

duredhel
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2010 8:47
Product(s): Amilo Xi1546
T7200 CPU
2x2GB PC5300 Kingston ValueRAM
ATI Mobility Radeon HD4670 1GB
1 Intel Postville 80GB SSD
Sony/OptiArc 5500A CD/DVD/BD-ROM drive

Re: [XI1546] Upgrade to 4GB HEEEELP !!!

Postby duredhel » Thu Sep 09, 2010 12:43

Hi there,

I've been a bit late to post about my very successful 4670 installation (and kudos to MXM upgrade !)
In my case I had no modification to do whatsoever, I just had to slot in the card and voilà it worked :)
I didn't even had to use the thermal pads since I've discovered that the X1800 was originally mounted with thermal paste... So I've just used my trusty Arctic MX-2 :)

As for W7, the 32b version is OK even with the new card. Even though it has 1GB instead of 256MB for the X1800, it doesn't seems to bother W7 memory mapping. Therefore, W7 still recognises 3.25GB out of 4GB installed. As 64b version wouldn't be able to get more (I've checked with a 64b Linux DVD) since it's a BIOS limitation, and somehow I doubt that FSC or Alienware or anyone else will work on a BIOS with no RAM restriction.

And yes the DVI plug works like a charm, I'm using a DVI/HDMI converter and enjoying HD movies on my LCD TV. It works so fine that I'm even considering ditching my plans to build and HTPC and use my Xi15456 instead ! :) Indeed, I've ditched the two 100GB HDD for one SSD: SSD perf are not good with the xi1546 (because the @#%&!$ VIA chipset is placed on the PCI bus...) but 4K perf and ridiculous access times are there so you still feel a huge difference. But more importantly for the HTPC side of things, with only one drive there's no more hellish HDD right next to the graphic card... which means that the fan rarely kicks itself on even during games ==> perfect for an HTPC: no fan noise, no HDD noise !!! And since I've replaced my DVD drive for a BD one, I've got blu-ray capability too :)

As for games, I'm playing Mass Effect 1 at 1280x720 with almost all settings to the max (I've just switched off the Film effet and the dynamic shadows). And PES 2010 plays at 1980x1080 with all settings to the max :) So yes, you won't play Crisis at full settings with it, but if like me you game mainly on your desktop (mine has a HD5870) and use your laptop as a backup or as a guest PC for multiplayer games, then the Xi1546 with a HD4670 is a GREAT option. In short I'm a happy man :)

The laptop config:
Xi1546 T7200 CPU with an 945PM chipset (same as Bjornski1976)
BIOS: Alienware 2.07 bios (supposedly it has improvements from 1.19 :?:)
2x2G RAM: Kingston Value RAM KVR667D2S5K2/4G at 533Mhz (PC5300)
ATI Mobility Radeon HD4670 1GB (same as Bjornski1976)
1 Intel Postville 80GB SSD
Sony/OptiArc 5500A CD/DVD/BD-ROM drive

ZeroAA
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 0:14
Product(s): XI 1546

Re: [XI1546] Upgrade to 4GB HEEEELP !!!

Postby ZeroAA » Sat Sep 11, 2010 23:07

Hi guys, good discussion you have here. I have a couple of questions, if you could spare some time to answer them, I would be greatly appreciative :).

So, my system is as follows:

FSC Xi 1546
Core Duo T2400
ATI Mobility X1800
2GB Corsair DDR2 667Mhz
500GB Hitachi 7K500 + 500GB Hitachi 5K500.B
Windoes 7 Professional 32-bit

As you have discovered, the Xi has this issue where the max read speed of the HDD controller is limited to about 80-90 MB/s. I found that out also the hard way when I first upgraded to my 7K500, as it is generally capable of sequential reads of more than 100 MB/s, but averages about 85 MB/s. So, yes, somewhat annoying, but I can live with it, so I don't mind.

Basically, my issue is that I am experiencing some lagging on some games, where the computer seems as though it just freezes for about 10/20 seconds. Very annoying online, as you end up dying :P. Now, this problem wasn't there last year on the same game. I believe it is overheating. I have cleaned the laptop out, but its made no difference, so my next step is to replace the processor and graphics thermal compounds, with some better quality stuff, like Arctic Silver 5.

My question is, when you guys replaced your GPU, did you re-use the thermal pads for the graphics card? Also, does the physical die of the graphics card processor use a pad or does it use paste? As you can tell, its difficult to find out just by opening the back cover. Also, are there any pads on the back of the graphics card?

Thanks guys :)

PS: Your upgrades are awesome, and MXM-upgrade really is a very useful and informative place. Good luck for your builds :).

User avatar
Bjornski1976
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 14:40
Product(s): Fujitsu-Siemens Amilo Xi1546, Intel Core 2 Duo T5600, 17" WXGA Display, ATI HD4670, Adata 4GB DDR2 PC2-5300, 2 x 120GB Raid 0. Windows 7 64bit, Bios Alienware 1.19w, ATI Catalist 10.8
Location: The Netherlands

Re: [XI1546] Upgrade to 4GB HEEEELP !!!

Postby Bjornski1976 » Sat Sep 11, 2010 23:28

Hi ZeroAA,

I reused almost everything from the old GPU card except for GPU die cooling compound. They used some thermal past for it
same as used for the cpu.

With the new card HD4670 2 pads come with it (yellow and gray). When everything was correct I finally used the gray pad for
GPU die cooling. The yellow one is for checking but not for final. I used it to see how the contact was between die and cooler.
Also I tested how the cooling paste pread out over the CPU die before final mounting all.
All RAM module front and back have cooling pads on them.
GPU die new gray color cooling pad.
Even the black plastic sheet from the back off the x1800 was put on the back of the HD4670.

Thermal cooling paste Noctua NT-H1 worked fine for me.

P.S. Experience lagging during online gaming can be cause by a fellow player with a bad connection.
Let the future rise spaceman

aczelkri
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 10:48

Re: [XI1546] Upgrade to 4GB HEEEELP !!!

Postby aczelkri » Sun Sep 12, 2010 9:02

Bjornski1976 or duredhel, could you post your 3dMark2006 score here?

User avatar
Bjornski1976
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 14:40
Product(s): Fujitsu-Siemens Amilo Xi1546, Intel Core 2 Duo T5600, 17" WXGA Display, ATI HD4670, Adata 4GB DDR2 PC2-5300, 2 x 120GB Raid 0. Windows 7 64bit, Bios Alienware 1.19w, ATI Catalist 10.8
Location: The Netherlands

Re: [XI1546] Upgrade to 4GB HEEEELP !!!

Postby Bjornski1976 » Sun Sep 12, 2010 9:58

I used the free dowload version so no options for the correct settings.
With the old X1800 card I had around 2900 3DMark06 Score.

Now ith new HD4670
3DMark Score 4792
SM 2.0 Score 1774
SM 3.0 Score 2229
CPU Score 1546

Date Sep 12, 2010 08:51 UTC
Pro user No
OS Windows 7
CPU Intel Core 2 Duo Processor T5600
CPU Speed 1828 MHz
GPU ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4670
Memory 4096 MB
Let the future rise spaceman

ZeroAA
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2010 0:14
Product(s): XI 1546

Re: [XI1546] Upgrade to 4GB HEEEELP !!!

Postby ZeroAA » Sun Sep 12, 2010 15:35

Thanks for your reply Bkornski, really appreciate it.

Okay, so thats good. If the GPU side itself uses thermal paste, then I can just replace the memory modules with some new pads, and put some good quality thermal paste on the GPU die and the CPU. I'm curious however, you used a new thermal pad for the GPU die for your new card. Why is that? Is it because the space between the heatsink and the die is too large, or because the die sits lower on the new ATI card, than on the older X1800?

Also, did you find any pads on the back of the graphics module by any chance?

Thanks.

User avatar
Bjornski1976
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 14:40
Product(s): Fujitsu-Siemens Amilo Xi1546, Intel Core 2 Duo T5600, 17" WXGA Display, ATI HD4670, Adata 4GB DDR2 PC2-5300, 2 x 120GB Raid 0. Windows 7 64bit, Bios Alienware 1.19w, ATI Catalist 10.8
Location: The Netherlands

Re: [XI1546] Upgrade to 4GB HEEEELP !!!

Postby Bjornski1976 » Sun Sep 12, 2010 19:57

The old card had thermal pads on the front and back. On the GPU thermal paste was used.

When I checked the distance between die and the boundery around the die on the HD4670
I noticed a smal gap of 1/2 mm. Therfore I just decided to use a pad on the GPU die.
This is also recommended by mxm upgrades.
Let the future rise spaceman

aczelkri
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 10:48

Re: [XI1546] Upgrade to 4GB HEEEELP !!!

Postby aczelkri » Sun Sep 12, 2010 23:35

Hm, your 3dMark score of 4792 is strange. Shouldn't it be arond 6000-7000 for the HD4670? See here:

http://www.notebookcheck.net/Mobile-Gra ... 844.0.html

Have you measured with 'maximum performance' powerplay settings (if they exist on HD4670)?

Gnomlord
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 17:02
Product(s): Amilo XI 1554 (4GB RAM,C2D T7600 2,33 GHz and Alienware Bios 1.19 )

Re: [XI1546] Upgrade to 4GB HEEEELP !!!

Postby Gnomlord » Wed Sep 15, 2010 16:19

aczelkri wrote:Hm, your 3dMark score of 4792 is strange. Shouldn't it be arond 6000-7000 for the HD4670? See here:

http://www.notebookcheck.net/Mobile-Gra ... 844.0.html

Have you measured with 'maximum performance' powerplay settings (if they exist on HD4670)?


That is correct. But the Amilo Notebook has an older Achitecture. In the test on Notebookcheck.com only notebooks with newer processors and DDR3 RAM has been tested. The old hardware from the Amilo notebook slows the HD4670

aczelkri
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 10:48

Re: [XI1546] Upgrade to 4GB HEEEELP !!!

Postby aczelkri » Thu Sep 16, 2010 12:22

I am not so sure about the architecture being old. By the way, I am getting an nVidia 9700M GT GDDR3 next week, and post the results here. Theoretically the HD4670 should be superior to the 9700M, but we will see.

Meanwhile, duredhel, how about your 3dMark06 score?

duredhel
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Jul 07, 2010 8:47
Product(s): Amilo Xi1546
T7200 CPU
2x2GB PC5300 Kingston ValueRAM
ATI Mobility Radeon HD4670 1GB
1 Intel Postville 80GB SSD
Sony/OptiArc 5500A CD/DVD/BD-ROM drive

Re: [XI1546] Upgrade to 4GB HEEEELP !!!

Postby duredhel » Fri Sep 17, 2010 13:51

ZeroAA,

As for me, the X1800 had been mounted with thermal paste on the GPU die. Everything else used thermal pads.
I've reused the pads and replaced the paste with my some Arctic MX-2 (the very same I've used on my CPU) and everything is working wonderfully :) So in the end, I didn't used the pads provided with the card since there are meant to be used on the GPU die.
As I've posted earlier my installation really was a no brainer. Keep in mind though that every case is different. Bjornski1976 and I start with what seem to be the exact same laptop and we ended up with very different install. The guys at MXM_Upgrade had warned me about this -before- I made my decision to buy: no one really knows why the laptops insides are so inconsistent and no one can tell you in advance if your install will go like a breeze or not...

aczelkri,
I've received your PM. Been a bit overwhelmed with work lately, but I'll try to run the benchmark this week-end and post the results.

impreza
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Aug 15, 2009 20:58
Product(s): Xi1546

Re: [XI1546] Upgrade to 4GB HEEEELP !!!

Postby impreza » Mon Sep 20, 2010 21:12

moved
Last edited by impreza on Fri Oct 08, 2010 6:58, edited 1 time in total.

aczelkri
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 10:48

Re: [XI1546] Upgrade to 4GB HEEEELP !!!

Postby aczelkri » Mon Oct 04, 2010 23:24

I tried the 9700M 256MB GDDR3 today without any luck :( I tried with Alienware 1.19 and 2.07, no beeping or any problem at start but Windows 7 (64bit) would not start in any mode other than 800x600 16 colors. I suspect it would have worked with 2.06 BIOS but as I had 3GB in my machine that was not an option (only 1.19 and 2.07 supports >2GB system RAM). So either I find some more hint on the 9700M or I must find myself another laptop :(

aczelkri
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jan 22, 2008 10:48

Re: [XI1546] Upgrade to 4GB HEEEELP !!!

Postby aczelkri » Sat Oct 09, 2010 23:20

Ok, I changed my mind and bought the 9700M 512MB GDDR3 anyway. Now I have 2.5GB RAM with BIOS 2.06, and 9700M GT. My 3DMark2006 score is 5575 at the moment, but I haven't played with it yet, maybe I can get it a little higher with some tweaking. BTW, I use Windows7, which I heard causes some performance degradation. The guy who I bought it from told me it should perform about 5900-6100 in 3DMark2006.

It is also a lot cooler then the old ATI. Now my system temperature (measured at the CPU) is 2-4 degrees lower than before. The GPU runs at 48C in idle mode, I don't know how was it with the old ATI because it did not have a temperature sensor.

One bad thing: the DVI is not working yet. It just does not see that I attached my HDTV. VGA output works though.


Return to “AMILO Notebook”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest