Fujitsu Technology Solutions - Forum


RAM for Amilo Li 1718

Moderator: ModTeam

RAM for Amilo Li 1718

Postby ccc on Wed Jul 29, 2009 13:54

hi

I have Amilo Li 1718 with 1GB RAM.
What's maximum RAM amount and what kind of RAM do I need exactly for Li1718?
ccc
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 21:49
Product(s): Amilo Li 1718

Re: RAM for Amilo Li 1718

Postby Siggi2108 on Fri Jul 31, 2009 6:30

max Ram: 2x1GB DDR2 533MHz (PC2-4200) Modules or 2x1GB DDR2 667MHz (PC2-5300) Modules
User avatar
Siggi2108
 
Posts: 2384
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 13:26
Location: 51°40'39,5''N + 6°36'31,65''E
Product(s): PA 1510 * XA 2528 * UI 3520

Re: RAM for Amilo Li 1718

Postby ccc on Fri Jul 31, 2009 20:50

I have now 2 x 512 MB:
Code: Select all
PC2-4200 DDR2-SDRAM Samsung M4 70T6554EZ3-CD5 ------------
[General Module Information]

Module Number: 0

Module Size: 512 MBytes

Memory Type: DDR2-SDRAM

DIMM Type: SO-DIMM

Error Check/Correction: None

Memory Speed: 266.7 MHz (PC2-4200)

Module Manufacturer: Samsung

Module Model: M4 70T6554EZ3-CD5

Serial Number: 1185023218

Manufacturing Date: Year: 2007, Week: 8

[Module characteristics]

Module Width: 64-bits

Module Voltage: SSTL 1.8V

SPD Revision: 1.2

Number Of Ranks: 2

Row Address Bits: 13

Column Address Bits: 10

Number Of Banks: 4

[Module timing]

Supported Burst Lengths: 4, 8

Refresh Rate: Reduced 0.5x (7.8 us)

Supported CAS Latencies (tCAS): 5.0, 4.0, 3.0

Min. RAS-to-CAS Delay (tRCD): 15.00 ns

Min. Row Precharge Time (tRP): 15.00 ns

Min. RAS Pulse Width (tRAS): 45 ns

Supported Module Timing at 266.7 MHz: 5.0-4-4-12

Supported Module Timing at 266.7 MHz: 4.0-4-4-12

Supported Module Timing at 200.0 MHz: 3.0-3-3-9

Min. Row-Activate To Row-Activate Delay (tRRD): 10.00 ns

Write Recovery Time (tWR): 15.00 ns

Internal write to read command delay (tWTR): 7.50 ns

Internal read to precharge command delay (tRTP): 7.50 ns

Address and Command Setup Time Before Clock (tIS): 0.25 ns

Address and Command Setup Time After Clock (tIH): 0.37 ns

Data Input Setup Time Before Strobe (tDS): 0.10 ns

Data Input Setup Time After Strobe (tDH): 0.22 ns


Can I add the following 1GB Module?
Code: Select all
Corsair ValueSelect 1GB SO-DIMM, DDR2-533
Product Number   VS1GSDS533D2
Value Select SO-DIMM   
Speed DDR2-533, PC4200
Pin   200pin
ccc
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 21:49
Product(s): Amilo Li 1718

Re: RAM for Amilo Li 1718

Postby Siggi2108 on Sat Aug 01, 2009 13:45

Yes, Corsair 1GB SO-DIMM DDR2-533 modules should work
User avatar
Siggi2108
 
Posts: 2384
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 13:26
Location: 51°40'39,5''N + 6°36'31,65''E
Product(s): PA 1510 * XA 2528 * UI 3520

Re: RAM for Amilo Li 1718

Postby ccc on Mon Aug 03, 2009 14:07

There is 2 x 512 MB RAM from the factory, but the BIOS see only 896 MB!
I've replaced one of this module with 1GB, but the BIOS shows still 896 MB.
I've done BIOS update, but this problem still exists.
This is really strange.
ccc
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 21:49
Product(s): Amilo Li 1718

Re: RAM for Amilo Li 1718

Postby SSmith on Thu Aug 06, 2009 13:30

ccc wrote:There is 2 x 512 MB RAM from the factory, but the BIOS see only 896 MB!


The machine has integrated graphics onboard the motherboard, which does not have it's own RAM, so some of the main RAM is used by the vid card.
Steven
SSmith
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:42
Product(s): Xi 3650
EM V5545

Re: RAM for Amilo Li 1718

Postby ccc on Thu Aug 06, 2009 15:07

but if I put 2 x 512 MB or 1 x 512MB and 1GB, I still see 896 MB in the BIOS.
The BIOS can not read more than 896 MB!
ccc
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 21:49
Product(s): Amilo Li 1718

Re: RAM for Amilo Li 1718

Postby SSmith on Fri Aug 07, 2009 0:16

1 x 1GB and 1 x 512 shows as 896? that doesn't make sense.

2 x 512 being seen as 896 is perfectly correct, 128MB is allocated to VGA, the Li1718's all do that.

Fair enought if you add more RAM some systems will allocate a little more to VGA but not 640MB out of 1.5GB. The datasheet seems to suggest VGA RAM can only go to maximum of 256MB (which would be 2 x 1GB RAM):
http://uk.ts.fujitsu.com/Resources/17/260761995.pdf

Have you tried to swap the modules so the 1GB module is in the first slot?
Steven
SSmith
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:42
Product(s): Xi 3650
EM V5545

Re: RAM for Amilo Li 1718

Postby ccc on Fri Aug 07, 2009 0:59

SSmith wrote:Have you tried to swap the modules so the 1GB module is in the first slot?


Yep, but it doesn't help.
ccc
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 21:49
Product(s): Amilo Li 1718

Re: RAM for Amilo Li 1718

Postby SSmith on Fri Aug 07, 2009 16:16

Strange! The only thing I can think of is some incompatibility between the two modules but I can not see any reason why this would be, they both have 4-4-4-12 timing .... does not make sense.

Install SystemDiagnostics (http://support.ts.fujitsu.com/Download/ ... 4000A114FE), look in the Computer Details section on the right. What does it say is the capacity for Physical Memory 0 and Physical Memory 1?

Also how much RAM does the BIOS say is installed if just the new 1GB module is connected?
Steven
SSmith
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:42
Product(s): Xi 3650
EM V5545

Re: RAM for Amilo Li 1718

Postby ccc on Fri Aug 07, 2009 16:55

SSmith wrote:Also how much RAM does the BIOS say is installed if just the new 1GB module is connected?


If i put only the new 1GB module, BIOS say 896 MB.
ccc
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 21:49
Product(s): Amilo Li 1718

Re: RAM for Amilo Li 1718

Postby SSmith on Mon Aug 10, 2009 20:30

And what does the Windows System Diagnostic tool say the capacity of the two modules is when you have the 512MB and 1GB module in?

Also right click on Computer and choose Properties, what does this say the installed RAM is?
Steven
SSmith
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:42
Product(s): Xi 3650
EM V5545

Re: RAM for Amilo Li 1718

Postby ccc on Mon Aug 10, 2009 21:25

SSmith wrote:And what does the Windows System Diagnostic tool say the capacity of the two modules is when you have the 512MB and 1GB module in?

Also right click on Computer and choose Properties, what does this say the installed RAM is?


VISTA says 896 MB as well.
Last edited by ccc on Mon Aug 10, 2009 23:18, edited 2 times in total.
ccc
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 21:49
Product(s): Amilo Li 1718

Re: RAM for Amilo Li 1718

Postby SSmith on Mon Aug 10, 2009 22:11

The Computer details section in System Diagnostics will have a part which looks like this: -

Image

Whats the capacity in Bank 1 and whats the capacity in Bank 2?
Steven
SSmith
 
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:42
Product(s): Xi 3650
EM V5545

Re: RAM for Amilo Li 1718

Postby ccc on Mon Aug 10, 2009 23:55

THX, I'll download System Diagnostic tool and check.
ccc
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 21:49
Product(s): Amilo Li 1718

Next

Return to AMILO Notebook L

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest