W380 critical error cross on LCD display

Moderator: ModTeam

mrwrighty
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 11:23
Product(s): Econel
RX300S2

W380 critical error cross on LCD display

Postby mrwrighty » Tue Sep 06, 2016 15:46

I have a w380 which when powered up all fans spin up to speed slowly and stay there. The Machine does not POST and a cross appears on the LCD display. This refers to a critical hardware error of some sort, and the manual suggests using Deskview to view the problem which is impossible because the system will not boot.

Anyone any thoughts on this.

Tom_A
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 10:28
Product(s): ESPRIMO Q920

Re: W380 critical error cross on LCD display

Postby Tom_A » Fri Sep 30, 2016 15:04

This sounds unusual, could you post a photo of this cross on the display ?

mrwrighty
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 11:23
Product(s): Econel
RX300S2

Re: W380 critical error cross on LCD display

Postby mrwrighty » Mon Oct 03, 2016 16:26

Hi sorry for the delay

An image of the LCD display is attached.

IMG_4960 (1).jpg
IMG_4960 (1).jpg (48.62 KiB) Viewed 3970 times

Tom_A
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 10:28
Product(s): ESPRIMO Q920

Re: W380 critical error cross on LCD display

Postby Tom_A » Tue Oct 04, 2016 14:50

If you have some spare parts lying around, you could consider swapping out the dedicated GFX card if there is one. Do the same for the RAM sticks or else just make sure they are seated properly.

mrwrighty
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 11:23
Product(s): Econel
RX300S2

Re: W380 critical error cross on LCD display

Postby mrwrighty » Tue Oct 04, 2016 20:13

Remove the Quadro FX1800 and used the onboard graphics, no change.

Removed all RAM and replaced with a new 8GB Stick, no change.

Tom_A
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 10:28
Product(s): ESPRIMO Q920

Re: W380 critical error cross on LCD display

Postby Tom_A » Thu Oct 06, 2016 7:55

Have you checked that the CPU power cable is properly connected?
This is probably a long shot but you could try to recover the BIOS. It could be the reason there is no POST at all.


Return to “CELSIUS Workstations”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest