16 GB RAM in Celsius W370e Workstation

Moderator: ModTeam

AW811
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 11:37
Product(s): Celsius W370e

16 GB RAM in Celsius W370e Workstation

Postby AW811 » Mon Jan 09, 2017 13:04

Guten Tag,

ich möchte meine Workstation Celsius W370e auf 16 GB RAM aufrüsten. Leider finde ich die richtigen RAM-Riegel nicht dafür? Ich finde sehr teure, die nur für AMD freigegeben sind oder nur diese sind nur für Server gedacht (mit ECC). Wie kann ich meinen Rechner aufrüsten? Das Board ist ein D2817.

Vielen Dank im Voraus.

Vobexo
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2016 22:51
Product(s): Celsius W370

Re: 16 GB RAM in Celsius W370e Workstation

Postby Vobexo » Thu Jan 19, 2017 20:40

Hallo,
habe dies hier gefunden

https://www.compuram.de/arbeitsspeicher,fujitsu+%28-siemens%29,desktop-1-workstation,celsius,w370+%28d2817%29.htm

Die sollten es auch von anderen Herstellern geben.

Gruß
Vobexo

AW811
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 11:37
Product(s): Celsius W370e

Re: 16 GB RAM in Celsius W370e Workstation

Postby AW811 » Sun Jan 22, 2017 8:12

Vobexo wrote:Hallo,
habe dies hier gefunden

https://www.compuram.de/arbeitsspeicher,fujitsu+%28-siemens%29,desktop-1-workstation,celsius,w370+%28d2817%29.htm

Die sollten es auch von anderen Herstellern geben.

Gruß
Vobexo

Vielen Dank. Also passen DDR2-800 oder PC2-6400 in das Board und müssten die Workstation schneller machen. Ist es egal, ob man welche nimmt, wo "Only for AMD" steht oder macht das nichts?

AW811
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 11:37
Product(s): Celsius W370e

Re: 16 GB RAM in Celsius W370e Workstation

Postby AW811 » Sun Jul 30, 2017 15:53

Guten Tag,

würden auch "High density RAM" in der Workstation W370 funktionieren?

https://www.amazon.de/dp/B010B6YRYM/ref ... Q39G2CS0E7

Ich suche seit Tagen bei Intel ARK und anderen Foren und finde nichts brauchbares. :?:

Vielen Dank im Voraus.

rollef
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 11:57
Product(s): Celsius M720

Re: 16 GB RAM in Celsius W370e Workstation

Postby rollef » Sun Jul 30, 2017 18:31

Finger weg von den "AMD only" RAMs.

Such die mal bei ebay:
M378T5663QZ3-CF7
HMP351U6AFR8C-S6



Zitat:

This is an old thread, but there is a serious lack of concrete answers to this question.....so please read on before slam-dunking this post

I too have come across ddr2 ram labelled as AMD....and there seems to be a lot of ambiguity about what works where....

So a bit of research was the order of the day.

See section 5 of this excellent article http://www.ocfreaks.com/ram-overclockin ... tutorial...

To summarize:

1) An industry standard DDR2 module must ship with an SPD chip to be compliant. (SPD = serial presence detect)

2) The SPD chip contains JEDEC information which identifies the RAM module to the PC bios .

3) The SPD chip may also include additional information to help the BIOS configure optimal memory settings.

4) Intel call this extra information XMP

5) AMD call this extra information EPP

6) If the PC bios cannot understand EPP or XMP is falls back to the JEDEC information.

7) All PC bios systems can understand JEDEC, irrespective of what other config data is on the SPD chip.

7) So, an industry standard DDR2 module could in theory contain JEDEC, XMP and EPP configuration data.

8) Which means (in theory) any DDR2 PC bios can at least recognize the installed DDR2 module. (compatible ram timings or not)

9) It is an entirely separate issue if the RAM module timing specs are incompatible.(i.e. CL4 RAM in a "CL6 only" PC)

Example 1:

I own an Intel PC that needs CL5 ram modules. I purchase an "AMD" CL5 ram module and install it. BIOS cannot read the AMD EPP info on the SPD but can recognize the CL5 timing info in the JEDEC data table. PC BIOS auto configures for the AMD ram module and boots normally.

Example 2:

I own an AMD PC that needs CL6 ram modules. I purchase an "INTEL" CL6 ram module and install it. BIOS cannot read the INTEL XMP info on the SPD but can recognize the CL6 timing info in JEDEC data table. PC BIOS auto configures for the AMD ram module and boots normally.

Example 3:

I own an INTEL PC that needs CL6 ram modules. I purchase an "AMD" CL4 ram module and install it. INTEL BIOS cannot read the AMD EPP info on the SPD but can recognize the CL4 timing info in JEDEC data table. PC BIOS recognizes module timings as incompatible and refuses to boot.

Quelle:
https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/why-is-this-ddr2-amd-only.114684/#post-3223150

AW811
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 11:37
Product(s): Celsius W370e

Re: 16 GB RAM in Celsius W370e Workstation

Postby AW811 » Sun Jul 30, 2017 20:20

Vielen Dank, dann muss ich wohl in den sauren Apfel beissen und über 100 Euro für das RAM-Upgrade ausgeben.

Gingen auch 2x diese hier für 16 GB? https://www.amazon.de/PC2-6400-6400U-DD ... 6400U+16GB

Funktionieren diese garantiert auch mit dem Intel Q45 Chipsatz?

Vielen Dank nochmals.

rollef
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 11:57
Product(s): Celsius M720

Re: 16 GB RAM in Celsius W370e Workstation

Postby rollef » Sun Jul 30, 2017 21:25

Damit kommst du aber nicht auf 16GB.
Du brauchst gesamt 4x 4GB.

AW811
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2017 11:37
Product(s): Celsius W370e

Re: 16 GB RAM in Celsius W370e Workstation

Postby AW811 » Sat Aug 05, 2017 20:58

Pardon. Es ist schwierig, einen 4 GB-Riegel für DDR2-800 zu finden.


Return to “CELSIUS Workstations”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests