PRIMERGY TX200 S2 Boot Up

PRIMERGY, PRIMEPower

Moderator: ModTeam

walkdenhigh
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 11:31
Product(s): PRIMERGY Tx200 S2

PRIMERGY TX200 S2 Boot Up

Postby walkdenhigh » Wed Apr 07, 2010 12:36

Hi all,

We have a PRIMERGY TX200 S2 that yesterday was running absolutely fine. As it is the end of term, the students at my place of work are currently off, and so we take this opportunity to perform maintenance on our servers (such as Windows Updates etc). I ran a set of Windows Updates on the TX200 and once they had finished I rebooted it. Since then it has not worked, it fails to boot up, nothing shows on the monitor display and I get a POST error beep code in the sequence 1-3-3-1. I've checked everything, all the SCSI cables, all the PCI cards, I've seated the DIMMs in 2A+2B, 1A+1B and 0A+0B and none of them cause the system to boot up, I just have the same problem every time. The RAM has not been upgraded/changed from it's original configuration at all, it just is failing the POST all of a sudden.

I've tried a basic boot up with all expansion cards, optical drives and HDDs removed, and even running with just the one CPU, but nothing seems to fix it. Is it likely to be a dead MB?

Thanks,

B

Davie
Posts: 567
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2005 0:01
Product(s): PRIMERGY, ServerView
Location: UK

Re: PRIMERGY TX200 S2 Boot Up

Postby Davie » Wed Apr 07, 2010 12:41

1-3-3-1 is usually a sign of illegal or bad memory configuration. Are you saying you only have 1 pair of DIMMs that you've tried in different banks, or do you have 3 pairs?

If it's only one pair, maybe one of the pair has gone bad?

walkdenhigh
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 11:31
Product(s): PRIMERGY Tx200 S2

Re: PRIMERGY TX200 S2 Boot Up

Postby walkdenhigh » Wed Apr 07, 2010 12:52

I have in there now 1 pair of Samsung PC2700R CL2.5 ECC 1GB DIMMs which I have tried in banks 0, 1 and 2 (original RAM supplied with the server). I've also tried a pair of Hynix PC2700-U CL2.5 256MB DDR 333MHz in all 3 banks, and another pair of Micron PC2700U 256MB DDR 333MHz CL2.5, and all 3 pairs show up the same error.

B

PappaBaer2005
Posts: 588
Joined: Wed Dec 21, 2005 10:25
Product(s): Lifebook E8110
Location: Schleswig-Holstein
Contact:

Re: PRIMERGY TX200 S2 Boot Up

Postby PappaBaer2005 » Thu Apr 08, 2010 9:01

Are the Hynix and Micron memory modules also ECC? If not try an other pair of ECC RAM.

walkdenhigh
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 11:31
Product(s): PRIMERGY Tx200 S2

Re: PRIMERGY TX200 S2 Boot Up

Postby walkdenhigh » Thu Apr 08, 2010 9:13

I noticed that this morning, chances are they will be unregistered non-ECC which I spotted on the datasheet was different, so hopefully I'll be able to get up to Bolton today to pick up some ECC modules and try those out. It does seem unlikely that all 6 memory slots on the MB have failed all at the same time, and more like one or both of the ECC modules have failed and the others I have tried are incompatible.

I'll post my findings as soon as I know them.

Thanks

Ben

walkdenhigh
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 11:31
Product(s): PRIMERGY Tx200 S2

Re: PRIMERGY TX200 S2 Boot Up

Postby walkdenhigh » Thu Apr 08, 2010 9:19

Just another (related) query, the RAM I've spotted that I plan to go and collect has this in the tech spec:

CAS Latency: 2

The CL on the Samsung RAM that was originally in the server is 2.5, will that stop the RAM from working or will it not make a difference?

Ben

walkdenhigh
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2010 11:31
Product(s): PRIMERGY Tx200 S2

Re: PRIMERGY TX200 S2 Boot Up

Postby walkdenhigh » Thu Apr 08, 2010 15:13

Managed to find some with a CL of 2.5 that matched the spec of the original RAM exactly and it worked fine, so one of the modules must have been faulty.

Thanks for the help all,

Ben


Return to “Server Products”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest