Esprimo 2500-making Dimm-banks recognize ABOVE 512 MB ram

Moderator: ModTeam

diddldam
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 11:25
Product(s): Esprimo Edition

Esprimo 2500-making Dimm-banks recognize ABOVE 512 MB ram

Postby diddldam » Thu Jun 17, 2010 20:17

Recently purchased an older Esprimo Edition 2500 installed with 750 MB ram.

Searched the internet, including motherboard manufacturer and two RAM-specialist sites. All confirming that motherboard supported (at least) 2gb of Ram [1gb in each of the two sockets]

Puchased 2*1GB of Ram [Kingston Dimm2 6400 CL5 240], but at installing them booting up still reports only 1gb of ram inserted. Tried ALL combinations of new 2*1GB, old 512 MB and 256 MB ram [inserting only one, inserting two in combinations etc]
Every time at boot only reports 1GB of Ram [512 in each socket] (or less when using 256 Ram-module ;-) )
[Note: Found a program though (CPUID - CPU-Z) that reports "DDR2 RAM - 2048 MB Ram"]

Bios only reports 1024 MB Ram; XP Windows SP3 only reports 1024 MB Ram.

System running;
Windows XP SP3

Motherboard:
PTM800PRO LF

Bios-version:
Phoenix V6.00PG
Version WDA22CFS
04/28/2006-P4M800PRO-823-6A2L6009C-00

Furthermore been looking BIOS updates [that might correct this problem on both FIC [manufacturer of Motherboard] and Fujitsu-site. Not any succes :'(

Any suggestions on how to make system recognize and use 2*1Gb????

MikeEdwards
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 12:20
Product(s): Econel 100, 100S2, 200S2, TX150, TX300

Re: Esprimo 2500-making Dimm-banks recognize ABOVE 512 MB ra

Postby MikeEdwards » Tue Jun 22, 2010 15:56

That RAM sounds a bit flash to me. The manual for the motherboard (D2140, I think) says:

DDR333 or DDR400 unbuffered DIMM modules, 184-pin; 2.5V, 64 bit, without ECC. PC2700 or PC3200.

I know these things are supposed to be upwards-compatible, but maybe not as far as 6400.

diddldam
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 11:25
Product(s): Esprimo Edition

Re: Esprimo 2500-making Dimm-banks recognize ABOVE 512 MB ra

Postby diddldam » Sat Jun 26, 2010 19:19

Thanks for the input. That was also my thinking that this might be one possible cause for the problem. Unfortunately shops here in DK don't take back Ram-modules that have been used, but still have to look into the matter of "speed" of the modules.

[Some other person suggested that maybe had to with single-sided vs. double-sided modules, but old ones are single sided, too]

Thanks again for the input and will look into the matter at monday, when shops open again ;-)


Return to “ESPRIMO”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest