[P2420] DVD's cause HDD to hang!

Moderator: ModTeam

niterock
Product(s): P2420

[P2420] DVD's cause HDD to hang!

Postby niterock » Sun Jun 22, 2008 11:33

Hi!

Apologies for the lengthy submission but hopefully someone can suggest a resolution. I am a reseller engineer and not the end user.

The problem is identified as a communications or driver error or conflict between Vista Business and the SATA drivers for the Esprimo P2420 (YKEC002022)

I bought two of these machines to sell on to a client ... one with the pre installed Vista and one downgraded to XPP to meet customers requirements.

###

I failed miserably to get machine one to read the XPP downgrade disk, continually getting 5/10 minutes of nothing (hard disk light on but no activity!) followed by a request for the same disk, followed by more waiting ... loop ... loop

I tried re-installing Vista from the recovery DVD .. same problem cant read DVD (hard disk light on but no activity!) ... loop etc. Hhmmm. Replaced the DVD drive with a generic Lite-on drive ... same problem ... replaced the HDD with another one (brand new) same problem.

Inserted an OEM XPP CD and installed XP no problem ... full access and DVD functionality. Tried to reinstall Vista from the recovery DVD ... failed when asking for missing driver then cant read DVD??

###

Machine 2 booted fine into preinstalled Vista ... perfect! Until I inserted a DVD Movie to test installation. Machine hung with HDD light on but no activity. Had to power off and re-boot. Machine works perfectly until !ANY! dvd is inserted, then it falls over!

I attached an external USB DVD drive and that works perfectly!

###

I conclude that Vista and the SATA are not compatible! Suggestions please!

This is NOT urgent as the client is happy with the external USB drive for the moment and his XPP box is perfect although it cost me an OEM license rather than a downgrade!! We'll talk about that later :-)

Kind regards

Jimmy Flynn
Milborne Port Computer Services