Problems with explorer.exe on tablet PC T4210

Moderator: ModTeam

Mikess

Problems with explorer.exe on tablet PC T4210

Postby Mikess » Mon Dec 25, 2006 14:29

From time to time the ordinary Windows Explorer (not Internet Explorer) won´t fire up, in other words the explorer window will not show on the screen. Now and then also explorer.exe has crashed with the message "Explorer.exe ...... bla bla.... the memory could not be read".
If i go through task manager I always have two processes of explorer.exe running, and if I try the run command and type in explorer.exe nothing at all happens. The funny thing is if I kill the two running processes of explorer.exe and then run the command explorer.exe agian everything works fine and I will be able to get the GUI running and explorer window to show up! Then it works perfectly alright for a while.
And yes, the computer is fully up to date with latest drivers from your web site and all fixes from Microsoft. It is also totally clean from malware, viruses adwares etc etc.

Could someone please give me som advise, this fault is getting on my nerves.... :-(

Br,
Mikess

kwaq
Posts: 28
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 17:34
Location: Poland

Postby kwaq » Mon Dec 25, 2006 22:12

Easiest way I know - backup data, format c:, fresh Windows install. Don't take it as only solution, but most probably it'll help :D
FSC Lifebook E6595 PIII M 850MHz, 256 MB, ATI M4 16MB, HDD 20GB, _NEC DVD+-RW ND-6500A; and an original FSC mini RF mouse ;P

Mikess

Re:

Postby Mikess » Mon Dec 25, 2006 23:42

yepp, I know, like in the old days of win95. Life is a lemon.....

I just hope it is not related to hardware fault.

Br,
Mikess

Mikess

Re:

Postby Mikess » Thu Dec 28, 2006 14:05

Ok, so I used the recovery CDs to make a totally clean installation.
The problem still persists on my tablet PC T4210 (just two months old).

Randomly, and frequently, the explorer.exe crashes. In Event viewer (translated from Swedish) could be read (similar):

Event id # 26

"Program-popup: Explorer.EXE - Program exeption: The instruction on "0x02f66b21" refers to memory "0x00000099". It is not posible to accomplish the task. Following error was returned: The memory could not be "read".

Click OK if you would like to terminate the program.
Click cancel if you would like to debug the program.

More information on site:
http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp."

If I click the link the log also refers to a file ntdll.dll. I have the lastest version of that file and the file is ok.

I am sure I have serched the entire Internet for guidance with no sucess so far. Many people have problems with explorer.exe but none like mine.

I also e-mailed the problem to FSC helpdesk but so far not received any response.

I am more and more sure that the problem is hardware related..

The question is if it is only me?

FSC experts, please...

Br,
Mikess
[/list]

User avatar
Nadeeem
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 13:09
Location: Pakistan
Contact:

Postby Nadeeem » Fri Dec 29, 2006 15:40

Mikess, what I can predict is that its a hardware problem (I maybe wrong) The problem lies in your memory, i.e. the RAM. Because you have done a clean media installation but the problem still presists. So as your product is under warranty (as you told that its just two months old) I think you should take it to an FSC authorized service centre in your country and have it checked especially the memory.

User avatar
jingo2000
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2006 13:14
Location: SHEFFIELD UK

Errors

Postby jingo2000 » Fri Dec 29, 2006 19:03

Hi

Like the previous post said i would take it back to your reseller, if your pc has 2 sticks of ram then get them to remove one and test and vice versa, you can either confirm or rule out ram this way.

Also look on the web for a ram testing program, there are many good ones out there which will stress your ram and give you any errors

if you open the pc up then the reseller can quiet easily say the warranty is invalid and after all that's what the reseller is paid for

User avatar
Nadeeem
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2006 13:09
Location: Pakistan
Contact:

Postby Nadeeem » Sat Dec 30, 2006 6:16

Hi Jingo

Thanks for the update. Could you plz. suggest a good RAM testing software.

User avatar
jingo2000
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2006 13:14
Location: SHEFFIELD UK

Mem

Postby jingo2000 » Sat Dec 30, 2006 10:53

I use Memtest86, pretty good and has a few options

Mikess

Re: Errors

Postby Mikess » Sun Dec 31, 2006 12:41

Yesterday I went out and bought another identical Samsung 1 Gb strip and I´ve tried it and the same error occur so I don´t think it´s the memory...... (but now I have enough memory for Vista)

I have found Dr Watsons log file and it seems like the error behaves the same every time. Below is an extract from Dr Watsons for the specific error.


*** ERROR: Symbol file could not be found. Defaulted to export symbols for C:WINDOWSsystem32
tdll.dll -
funktion: ntdll!KiFastSystemCallRet
7c90eb89 90 nop
7c90eb8a 90 nop
ntdll!KiFastSystemCall:
7c90eb8b 8bd4 mov edx,esp
7c90eb8d 0f34 sysenter
7c90eb8f 90 nop
7c90eb90 90 nop
7c90eb91 90 nop
7c90eb92 90 nop
7c90eb93 90 nop
FEL ->ntdll!KiFastSystemCallRet:
7c90eb94 c3 ret
7c90eb95 8da42400000000 lea esp,[esp]
7c90eb9c 8d642400 lea esp,[esp]
7c90eba0 90 nop
7c90eba1 90 nop
7c90eba2 90 nop
7c90eba3 90 nop
7c90eba4 90 nop
ntdll!KiIntSystemCall:
7c90eba5 8d542408 lea edx,[esp+0x8]
7c90eba9 cd2e int 2e

*** ERROR: Symbol file could not be found. Defaulted to export symbols for C:WINDOWSsystem32SHELL32.dll -
WARNING: Stack unwind information not available. Following frames may be wrong.
*** ERROR: Module load completed but symbols could not be loaded for C:WINDOWSExplorer.EXE
*** ERROR: Symbol file could not be found. Defaulted to export symbols for C:WINDOWSsystem32kernel32.dll -


Some "Symbol file" is missing which causes the error??

Does this make any sense to you guys?


Br,
Mikess


Return to “LIFEBOOK”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest