[XA 3530] Raid or AHCI ??

Moderator: ModTeam

cyb0g
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 23:04
Product(s): Fujitsu-Siemens XA3530

[XA 3530] Raid or AHCI ??

Postby cyb0g » Wed Jan 21, 2009 20:54

Yeah !! The problem that I have find out if I use RAID class, I cant install Windows Vista from my DVD then I change to AHCI and things seem to go through. But, after all. An other show up. My system are really slow, It take about 4-5 mins to start Vista ... I cant believe it.. Now if I change back RAID, system gone to Death Blue Screen, if I leave AHCI... that slow. Any body success on install new Vista from booting on DVD with RAID ?? Last time I try to install from Windows and my lap nearly gone mad.. It said disk read error ...

Hope some ideas from everyone

roysmits
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2009 20:05
Product(s): Amilo Xa 3530

Re: [XA 3530] Raid or AHCI ??

Postby roysmits » Sun Apr 12, 2009 20:09

Hi,

I have the same problem. I installed Windows 7 build 7077 from DVD and the problem is solved.
I think the Vista dvd doesn't have any raid drivers. Any one a solution?

pifpaf73
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2009 23:21
Product(s): amilo xi 3650

Re: [XA 3530] Raid or AHCI ??

Postby pifpaf73 » Mon Apr 13, 2009 12:01

if ahci selected you need format HDD to no raid!

roysmits
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Apr 12, 2009 20:05
Product(s): Amilo Xa 3530

Re: [XA 3530] Raid or AHCI ??

Postby roysmits » Thu Apr 16, 2009 16:28

Can anyone post what kind of Storage Controller in the Device Manager FS uses in
the original Vista version that came with the Xa 3530. It must possible to set the bios to
Raid en install of boot Vista.

Thrives
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 8:34
Product(s): Fujitsu AMILO Xa3530 17"WXGA+ Radeon HD3650 (512mb), Athlon QL62, 4GB RAM, 320GB HDD, Blu-Ray, Bluetooth, VHP

Re: [XA 3530] Raid or AHCI ??

Postby Thrives » Thu Jul 23, 2009 20:45

I am quite sure we have the JMB38x storage controller from JMBmicron. Try to download and run this ...

http://www.liutilities.com/products/driverscanner/

In general, FSC has acknowledged, I think, that setting the storage controller to RAID will result in a slower start up time but should have no effect on performance (expect the fact that many people experience bad audio and game performance with RAID).

SSmith
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2009 9:42
Product(s): Xi 3650
EM V5545

Re: [XA 3530] Raid or AHCI ??

Postby SSmith » Mon Jul 27, 2009 15:54

You all sounded quite knowledgable so will not go into too much detail but just ask if needed.

To ADD the AHCI driver into a normal XP / Vista install DVD first you need to find out which chipset you are using. Check the datasheet for the PC which tells you which chipset the machine uses.

Download an F6 copy of the driver (Sometimes on the FSC web page but if not get it direct from main manufacturer. e.g. if Intel ICH7/8/9, download the Intel Matrix Storage Manager driver from Intel)

If you want to install XP use nlite (http://www.nliteos.com/download.html) to slipstream the driver into the build and make a new CD.

If you want to install Vista use vlite (http://www.vlite.net/download.html) to slipstream the driver into the build and make a new CD.

This way you can install either OS with the AHCI enabled in BIOS.

To the previous Posters, the chipset for this machine is AMD 780G + AMD SB700 (I think the JMB38x storage controller from JMBmicron is something else like the eSATA or the card reader although this may be wrong, don't quote me on this one).
Steven


Return to “AMILO Notebook”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest