[Xi1547] 4GB Finally !!

Moderator: ModTeam

alien123
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2006 19:40

[Xi1547] 4GB Finally !!

Postby alien123 » Fri Feb 29, 2008 19:30

i have amilo xi 1547........

for all people(owners) on amilo xi series want to put 4gb in amilo xi 1526..1546.47..1554 and were waiting desperatlly for fuj sime to solve the problem, not ant more...pain


can put [b]alianware bios for [/b]

alianware models AREA-51 m5790

the BIOS can be found here

http://aliendl.alienware.com/Mobile/m57 ... s1.19W.zip

iso image, burn to cd and execute via cd boot(everything writen in pdf manual!!!)



the AREA-51 m5790 is exactly the same as amilo xi series ........mean
even in chasis
.........in chipset 945pm...mobility x1800 and x1900(model depending) ich7 abg802.11
look here for specs and nice review(you can see it's exactly the same as
xi series)........

http://www.notebookreview.com/default.a ... ware+m5790


after bios flashing finished on my amilo xi 1547 without problems.....
booting the vista ultimate 32 and reinstaliling all drivers...from chipset to usb hub to mobility x 1800 microsft drivers netowrk sound etc etc and about 5 minnutes ...
all reinstalled automaticllly and after restart machine working great..


the biggest question

does support 4gb at last after all adventures!

put the 2 x 2GB 667MHz DDR2 Non-ECC CL5 SODIMM value ram series of KINGSTON and finnally machine works in dual channel 4gb...

the bios recognized the 3326MB and in vista welcome center says 4gb....

cpu z says 4gb in duall chanel. it's working!!

and plus the start page after power is now alienware logo insted of
fujitsu siemens offcourse cause the image is put in the bios. no problem like you have new machine from alienware.....

checked the clock of my moblity 1800 is 't the default via catalyst..398/468.....(just to be shure cause it's alienware and it's about gaming) sooooooooo all it's same again but with 4gb
enjoy!

will write if have some problmes with this bios version or anything goes wrong(hardware related)malfunction


i found this trick here _(to be honest ) after 1 year waiting and waiting something to hapen on fuji support......

http://www.laptopvideo2go.com/forum/ind ... opic=14069

and thanks to ArneAnd and company for all risks

http://www.amilo-forum.com/topic,1444,a ... g-RAM.html

however it's working.

all xi users can try with different brand modules .....mean corsair....patriot...etc
samsung and post your results if threr are issues with different manufa....they should work and been recognized (will see how much in bios)

as i said earlier in few posts BIOS DOES MATTER...and as thinking ...
this are BIOS issues, cause if 2gb are supported in 1 slot don;t see reason why not working with 4gb...........STILll waiting to fuji siems to solve and realease bios with these feature enabled


again enjoy!!

[/img]

User avatar
amater
Posts: 1075
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2002 1:01
Product(s): Lifebook E8020, Lifebook S7110, Amilo D7830, Amilo Pro V2030, Pocket LOOX N560, Scenic L, Scenic XS, Celsius M460
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Postby amater » Fri Feb 29, 2008 23:53

Keep in mind that by flashing non FSC bios on your FSC notebook will result in warranty VOID!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

So if something should go wrong with your "alienized" amilo, you can kiss goodbye free service.
Share your knowledge...

alien123
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2006 19:40

Postby alien123 » Sat Mar 01, 2008 1:50

keep in mind that by waiting FSC in future to give newer BIOS with 4gb support can make your notebook and all FSC owners fossilized ......DUST!!!!!!!

"you can kiss goodbye free service."

do you still believe in free service ...... nothing free in this world........

yes offcourse this stupid forum is free, where people tell their problems without
someones "free service "help and just releasing the same bios with different number ,just to count..........


by the way all xi series are same as alienware m5750 and 5790....

They are manufactured by the same company http://www.uniwill.com/, and are just branded differently by fujitsu siemens and Alienware with
different bios modifications and features enabled/disabled

intersting discussion is here

http://www.notebookforums.com/thread199986-2.html

as proof .......

here is manual for m5750 notebook see and compare with xi 1546..47..1554

http://aliendl.alienware.com/mobile/m57 ... Manual.PDF

and next time please write something more usefull and helpfull !!!!!!!!!


:evil: :evil: :evil:

User avatar
Nephitis
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 1:02
Product(s): Scaleo X
Contact:

Postby Nephitis » Sat Mar 01, 2008 9:48

alien123 wrote:put the 2 x 2GB 667MHz DDR2 Non-ECC CL5 SODIMM value ram series of KINGSTON...........and finnally machine works in dual channel 4gb...

the bios recognized the 3326MB and in vista welcome center says 4gb....

cpu z says 4gb in duall chanel..........it's working!!!!!!!!!

A note, you need 64-bit OS in order to use 4GB and higher. 32-bit Windows is is only capable of allocating 4GB of memory. This "4 GB" limit includes all the memory installed anywhere in your computer, including therefore any memory on “additional” components such as the graphics card. So in practice, the max system memory is something significantly less, equal to 4GB minus your video card memory and the address space allocated to a couple of other hardware resources. The maximum "system memory" is somewhere between 2.5GB ~ 3.5GB.

alien123
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2006 19:40

Postby alien123 » Sat Mar 01, 2008 10:22

offcourse

but

problem with XI was bios suppport ,with all xi boards not recognizing the 4gb
memory (not depending brand nor os) even in bios we were limited to 2.5 .........and in that case put "128bit "os if it is not
recogized by bios uselless.............that was the main pain ......
HARDWARE related problme not about the OS support
"

discussion isn't which os supports fully 4gb or above 32 or 64....i know that


now all owners at least have the choice ..........32 or 64....
before only 2gb were workin(2.5gb)
and would like to see other memory brands configuration reports and their behave
cause in my case works!!!!

even in 32 can see some benefit

problem was to take high risk of putting bios version from another manufac....
alianware to my machine fsc ....but cause are the same boards so far
for 2 days is working wihtout any issues and hardware probs......which i
think is satisfac ..as a solussion ...........evrythin working same as before
with the native fsc bios 2.5

Rost
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 10:14
Product(s): Amilo Xi1554

Re: [AMILO Xi1547] 4GB FINALLY !!!!!!!!!!!

Postby Rost » Sun Apr 06, 2008 14:30

Hallo,
Vielen Dank für den Hinweis auf das Alienware Bios. Ich habe vergebens versucht eine korrekte Antwort von FSC zu bekommen. Das ging von unmöglich über vielleicht bis zum schriftlichen ok von FSC Belgien.
Hier diese Antwort:
Voila les données du Ram
2 * DDR2-RAM PC533/667 SODIMM 4GB max.

Sincères salutations
Emir Belatoui
Fujitsu Siemens Computers
Support Technique


Nachdem ich die richtigen 2x2GB bei Kingston gekauft hatte und festgestellt hatte dass nach dem Post vom Bios alles stillstand, versuchte ich es noch einmal vergebens beim Support. Die Antwort war noch dümmer: Wir wissen nicht ob und wann eine neue Version von Bios veröffentlicht wird.
Ich habe dem Support auch noch mitgeteilt dass der Amilo Xi1554 nicht bootet wenn eine ExpressCard SSD im Slot PCI Express eingesteckt ist. Das scheint sie auch nicht zu interessieren. Vielleicht ist dies ein Bug von Microsoft denen ich das auch mitgeteilt habe.

Hier ein Auszug aus DxDiag
------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 4/3/2008, 14:48:53
Machine name: AMILO
Operating System: Windows Vista™ Ultimate (6.0, Build 6001) Service Pack 1 (6001.longhorn_rtm.080118-1840)
Language: French (Regional Setting: French)
System Manufacturer: ALIENWARE
System Model: M5700I-R2

BIOS: Ver 1.00PARTTBL
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU T7200 @ 2.00GHz (2 CPUs), ~2.0GHz
Memory: 3326MB RAM
Page File: 935MB used, 5908MB available
Windows Dir: C:\Windows



Leider wird jetzt das Logo von Alienware Area-51 Special Edition angezeigt. Was soll's. Für FSC ist es keine Reklame.Das scheint denen egal zu sein.

Nochmal, vielen Dank.
Rost

migx
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 12:56

Re: [Xi1547] 4GB Finally !!

Postby migx » Wed May 14, 2008 14:25

Excellent job - well done !

I've just swapped 2 GB with 4 GB of RAM - works like a charm using low-cost DDR2 6700 units.

pako
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 12:58

Re: [Xi1547] 4GB Finally !!

Postby pako » Fri May 16, 2008 19:37

Hi!

What happened with your Vista Activation when you flashed Alienware BIOS? Did you experience any problems? I'm worried because if you change a BIOS, the SLI OEM identification is (probably) changed also, and my activated Vista may stop working.

Thanks for tip!

PaKo

MUDboy
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 14:54
Product(s): xi1554

Re: [Xi1547] 4GB Finally !!

Postby MUDboy » Thu Jul 31, 2008 14:57

i'm wondering how to re-active the vista oem system after switch bios to alienware.
Does anybody have a vista oem cert file "alienware.xrm-ms" dump from the alienware computer?

maxpaine
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2007 19:02

Re: [Xi1547] 4GB Finally !!

Postby maxpaine » Thu Aug 28, 2008 18:44

siemens sucks tottaly o already sendend 4 emails in rellation with updates and bios and never had response to theme

tom
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2008 20:16
Product(s): amilo Xi 1554

Re: [Xi1547] 4GB Finally !!

Postby tom » Wed Dec 03, 2008 20:41

Hi this is only my second post and I would like to say Thankyou to the people who took the time and trouble to find an update for the bios
I have the amilo Xi 1554 and have just upgrade to the alienware bios as listed here
GREAT every thing works a treat now have 4gig of mem and windows vista 64bit

as far as Iam concerned fujitsu could have done this for its customers BUT reading between the lines
tells me that FUJITSU IS NOT VERY HELPFUL TO ITS EXISTING CUSTOMERS.

So Thanks again

:D Tom G

misterpirat
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2009 22:18
Product(s): FSC amilo XI3650

Re: [Xi1547] 4GB Finally !!

Postby misterpirat » Thu Jan 08, 2009 21:08

helooo
i have fujitsu siemens XI3650 note book (18.5")
my moterboard is an : XY680
and i have my 4Gb ram on bios and in vista32 SP1

but i like to make the alienware bios like you !!

1/becose ALIENWAAAAREE !!!! :lol:
2/i have 4Gb ram pc3-8500 1066Mhz (DDR3) on my notebook
but i am turning at only 667Mhz like ddr2 so can i make it or not
FSC sayed that they will release new bios update to correct the broblem (667 to 1066)
but we still waiting piffffff

plzz unser and don't say just try (in bad result i loose my notebook: no warranty!!)

pifpaf73
Posts: 65
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2009 23:21
Product(s): amilo xi 3650

Re: [Xi1547] 4GB Finally !!

Postby pifpaf73 » Fri Jan 09, 2009 14:08

vista 32 can say 4Gb of ram....and cat use up to 3Gb!

misterpirat
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2009 22:18
Product(s): FSC amilo XI3650

Re: [Xi1547] 4GB Finally !!

Postby misterpirat » Fri Jan 09, 2009 15:24

pifpaf73 wrote:vista 32 can say 4Gb of ram....and cat use up to 3Gb!


i have the xi3650 like you ;)

vista 32bit Service Pack 1 says 4Gb ram but ONLY 3031MB ARE WORKING !!!!!
vista 64bit wil of curse work with all ram...

but the problem here is the FSB !!!!
we have ddr3(1066) but we can't use it(only 667 like ddr2), im thinking about the alienware bios
what about you ??

Z104
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2009 13:49
Product(s): Fujitsu Siemens xi 1546

Re: [Xi1547] 4GB Finally !!

Postby Z104 » Wed Sep 23, 2009 16:29

Hi. This is my first post here. I have 2 questions to all who have flashed the alienware bios to their FS Xi laptop.

1. After the flash must i put a new registration code to windowsXP ? (a non fujitsu siemens code..?)

2. Does the bios flash mess the RAID ?

Thanx in advance.


Return to “AMILO Notebook”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest