[AMILO Li1718] RAM On Amilo Li 1718?

Moderator: ModTeam

matt-hall-08
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 21:59
Product(s): Fujitsu Siemens Amilo Li 1718.
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

[AMILO Li1718] RAM On Amilo Li 1718?

Postby matt-hall-08 » Fri Jan 18, 2008 19:02

Hello all, I am appealing to anyone that owns a Fujitsu Siemens Amilo Li 1718. Just got it for Christmas and I am quite confused about the amount of RAM this laptop actually has. These are the different figures i get:

1. In Bios = Memory = 893MB (This seems very low as I am supposed to be getting around 1GB of RAM, and my brother's Toshiba has 1015MB.

2. In Welcome Center in Vista = 896MB (Again quite low for 1GB but why does this differ to the one in the bios???)

3. In Fujitsu Siemens FirstSteps: 1024 MB, this seems very innacurate as it is exactly 1GB.

So why am I getting these different figures then?
Well, if anyone owns this laptop, I would appreciate it, if you could post what results you get from the places I have listed above. (That's if your FirstSteps works!!)

Thanks for any help in advance!
Matt

affmo
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 18:27
Location: Bedfordshire

Postby affmo » Thu Jan 31, 2008 10:04

Matt

the same config exists on my daughters comp which is the same spec as yours it would appear. But not used Frist Steps that is a complete mysterry to me!!
regards

Tony Moss

shandy
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 15:09

Postby shandy » Thu Jan 31, 2008 10:21

it's quite simple - this model doesn't have a graphic card with dedicated (its own) memory so it has to take some of your RAM, as simple as this. The amount taken by the GPU then naturally does not appear under System in windoze. So the difference in whatever is shown by your ntb and 1 gig goes to your graphic card. The process is managed by the ATI drivers under windoze so that's what may cause the difference under windoze (as compared to BIOS).

matt-hall-08
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 21:59
Product(s): Fujitsu Siemens Amilo Li 1718.
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Postby matt-hall-08 » Fri Feb 01, 2008 21:11

Right Ok then,

Thanks for the replies.

Dam stupid graphic stealing my RAM! Guess this is what you get for buying budget laptops! Although, I've got to admit, I am very pleased with it, and it seemed like great value when I bought it! :roll:
Amilo Li 1718, Core Duo, Vista Home Premium, 896MB RAM +128MB used for Graphics!!, 98.1GB HDD, 12GB used for System Recovery! For £349.99!

shandy
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 15:09

Postby shandy » Sat Feb 02, 2008 12:12

it actually doesn't have to be that bad - it all depends on what you're gonna use the ntb for - if you're not a gamer and are OK with 800 megs of RAM then it might be actually better, cause the integrated graphics aren't that energy hungry and produce a lot less heat - thus you get a better battery life...it's always a question of what you're looking for, your criteria, see...

matt-hall-08
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 21:59
Product(s): Fujitsu Siemens Amilo Li 1718.
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Postby matt-hall-08 » Sat Feb 02, 2008 15:20

OK then maybe not.

I am not a gamer, so is there anyway I can stop the graphic card stealing my RAM?

Will this effect my playback of DVDs and YouTube videos though?

Matt
Amilo Li 1718, Core Duo, Vista Home Premium, 896MB RAM +128MB used for Graphics!!, 98.1GB HDD, 12GB used for System Recovery! For £349.99!

shandy
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Jul 20, 2006 15:09

Postby shandy » Sun Feb 03, 2008 21:46

there's nothing you can do about it - it's not stealing the RAM, it's just taking as much as it needs and it always needs something so that you can use your ntb. Just gotta live with it...if you're not a gamer (which you say you're not) and aren't running any RAM excessive apps (transcoding, e.g. adobe encore with photoshop or cad etc.) which I suppose you aren't either then just enjoy what you've got as it suits your needs perfectly - why paying extra money for something you're not gonna take advantage of (in your case a graphic chip with dedicated memory), right?

matt-hall-08
Posts: 73
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 21:59
Product(s): Fujitsu Siemens Amilo Li 1718.
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: [AMILO Li1718] RAM On Amilo Li 1718?

Postby matt-hall-08 » Wed Mar 19, 2008 21:37

Hey

Realise this is quite an old thread now but just thought I would post this brief reply.

Just updated to Vista SP1, and the RAM in the Vista Welcome Centre is now showing as 1.00GB, and the Graphics score with Windows Experience Index has gone from a 2.5 to a 2.7 :D

Matt
Amilo Li 1718, Core Duo, Vista Home Premium, 896MB RAM +128MB used for Graphics!!, 98.1GB HDD, 12GB used for System Recovery! For £349.99!

User avatar
Dave O
Posts: 256
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2005 0:01
Location: Lincolnshire

Re: [AMILO Li1718] RAM On Amilo Li 1718?

Postby Dave O » Thu Mar 20, 2008 0:46

Hey you found something thats good about Vista. :lol: Take away the shiney graphics, what have you got? Bloatware :lol:
I keep saying it, I'M NO EXPERT!

Amilo D1845
Dell Inspiron 1720
Asus Comando : E6600 : Nvidia 8800 GTS : HDD 1Tb


Return to “AMILO Notebook”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests