Can't connect to SX80 management ports

Moderator: ETERNUS Moderator Team

foxhunt
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 26, 2009 10:19
Product(s): FibreCAT SX80, PRIMERGY RX200 S4

Can't connect to SX80 management ports

Postby foxhunt » Tue May 26, 2009 10:53

Hello,

I have the problem connecting to SX80 management ports. I can't connect neither to https nor to ssh ports. When I'm connecting to https, web browser just doesn't load the page. When I try to connect through ssh I get the error:

ssh_exchange_identification: Connection closed by remote host


After using the command "ssh -vv 10.10.10.179" I've got the response:

OpenSSH_4.3p2, OpenSSL 0.9.8b 04 May 2006
debug1: Reading configuration data /etc/ssh/ssh_config
debug1: Applying options for *
debug2: ssh_connect: needpriv 0
debug1: Connecting to 10.10.10.179 [10.10.10.179] port 22.
debug1: Connection established.
debug1: permanently_set_uid: 0/0
debug1: identity file /root/.ssh/identity type -1
debug2: key_type_from_name: unknown key type '-----BEGIN'
debug2: key_type_from_name: unknown key type '-----END'
debug1: identity file /root/.ssh/id_rsa type 1
debug1: identity file /root/.ssh/id_dsa type -1
ssh_exchange_identification: Connection closed by remote host



Earlier I had only the problems with https. I used to restart management controllers through ssh and then https started to work normally. After some time (weeks) I noticed that https doesn't work again. Then I used to repeat the above procedure and everything worked fine again.

One possible reason I can think of is that this SX80 is put behind the Barracuda Load Balancer 340 (working as a router too). I configured the services in Barracuda to have the possibility to access the management ports of SX80. The problem could rise from the point that the Barracuda uses "TCP Port Check" every 60 seconds to be sure that the service is still available. I changed this setting to 3600 but I can't test it so easily - the SX80 is about 300 km away. Of course I have the possibility to access the SX80 remotely "from inside network".

Maybe someone encountered this before and have the solution?

Regards,
--
Vytas

FSC830
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 10:07
Product(s): Pocket Loox T830

Re: Can't connect to SX80 management ports

Postby FSC830 » Wed May 27, 2009 13:45

Hi,
I experienced also problems placing a firewall or router between admin host and sx80. The workaround was putting a small pc in the datacenter with local acces to the sx80. The pc is controlled via RDP or vnc from remote. This works(in our enviroment).

regards


Return to “Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests