Replacing the CPU

SCALEO E, SCALEO H, SCALEO X, SCALEO L, SCALEO P

Moderator: ModTeam

sharkyy
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 21:24
Product(s): scaleo t p4 3.20 mhz pc

Replacing the CPU

Postby sharkyy » Tue Feb 02, 2010 19:45

I have a scaleo t pentium 4 PC . has any one replaced their CPU with a newer one and if so, what did they replace it with?

ADAMSKI
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2005 0:01
Location: UK

Re: Replacing the CPU

Postby ADAMSKI » Tue Feb 02, 2010 23:27

Hi
Scaleo T uses more than one type if m/board. please post back make and model.
If you're not sure download this free utility :- http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file/f ... _pcadvisor

IT will tell you make and model if your board.

sharkyy
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 21:24
Product(s): scaleo t p4 3.20 mhz pc

Re: Replacing the CPU

Postby sharkyy » Wed Feb 03, 2010 9:33

The motherboard i have is a fujitsu siemans GA-81848PM The chipset is an intel i865PE.
I hope this helps.It has a 478mPGA socket

ADAMSKI
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2005 0:01
Location: UK

Re: Replacing the CPU

Postby ADAMSKI » Wed Feb 03, 2010 14:02

Ok.
Looks like your close to your limit with your 3.2g.The fastest P4 processers available are 3.4g extreme edition.Very expensive (around £180 second hand),so with a view to future upgrades a new m/b might be the best way forward.
specs here:-http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/Pentium_4/Intel-Pentium%204%20Extreme%20Edition%203.4%20GHz%20-%20RK80532PG0962M%20(BX80532PG3400F).html

sharkyy
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 21:24
Product(s): scaleo t p4 3.20 mhz pc

Re: Replacing the CPU

Postby sharkyy » Wed Feb 03, 2010 15:59

Thanks Adamski. do you know if i can fit a Novatech GeForce 8400GS 512MB DDR2 HDMI/DVI PCI- Retail
graphics card in my pc with out damaging it ? it has a pci slot as well as the agp one that i am using at the moment.

ADAMSKI
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2005 0:01
Location: UK

Re: Replacing the CPU

Postby ADAMSKI » Wed Feb 03, 2010 19:34

Looking at These specs :-
http://www.play.com/PC/PCs/-/667/874/-/ ... type=genre

There should be no probs

sharkyy
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 21:24
Product(s): scaleo t p4 3.20 mhz pc

Re: Replacing the CPU

Postby sharkyy » Wed Feb 03, 2010 20:31

Thanks Adamski. That was a big help. Looks like im off to novatech next payday !


Return to “SCALEO”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests