[Scaleo P] halts

SCALEO E, SCALEO H, SCALEO X, SCALEO L, SCALEO P

Moderator: ModTeam

olshevch
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 8:02

[Scaleo P] halts

Postby olshevch » Wed Jan 17, 2007 10:54

I have Scaleo Pa 1519.
I changed video from GeForce 7300 SE to Asus GF 7600 GT Silent.
Also inserted additional SATA hard drive.

Everything was ok until I added a case fan (12v). After this the system halts and powers off itself when I try to run graphic-heavy application (3DMark 2006). So, power capabilities of the unit were reached with newer video card and additional HDD.

Also I have TV and WLAN sticks un USB as periferial.

PS The case fan was fun, because it lowered the maximum load CPU temperature from 56C to 45C. While it was 22-23C room air temperature. I am thinking about connecting it to an external power source, if it goes warmer in Summer.

User avatar
Nephitis
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 1:02
Product(s): Scaleo X
Contact:

Postby Nephitis » Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:18

What is the question? :)... It seems like you figured it out yourself! For power and system stability I would recommend that you replace your power supply unit.

olshevch
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 8:02

Postby olshevch » Tue Apr 24, 2007 9:34

The question comes now. After I changed PSU to 500W Zalman. Originally it was 350W.
So, now everything works, including upgraded video (ASUS GF 7600GT), additional SATA HDD and additional case fan.

I bought also a power consumption meter (or how it is called). I.e. the thing, which plugs between wall socket and power supply cord. It should show voltage, amperage and wattage. So, at full load it shows maximum 135W. And maximum registerd power consuming is 156W.

The question: why does the computer need so powerful PSU, if actual power consumption is not over 200W?

User avatar
tenchiten
Posts: 383
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 20:08
Product(s): Frankenputers
Location: Cheshire UK

Postby tenchiten » Fri Apr 27, 2007 23:22

Hi Olshevch,
I cannot answer the question but, I have been watching the post and although no one else had an idea....
I wondered, did you find out why ?

:?:
Learning all the time.

olshevch
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 8:02

Re:

Postby olshevch » Sat Apr 28, 2007 18:12

tenchiten wrote:I wondered, did you find out why ?
:?:


No.
My current configuration is (I marked parts, which came with Scaleo Pa 1519 as 'OEM'):

Motherboard: Asus M2R-FVM (OEM)
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ (OEM)
HDD: SATA 250GB (ST3250824AS, OEM),
SATA 160GB (WDC WD1600JS-08NCB1)
CD/DVD multi recorder

PSU: Nexus NX-5000 500W (http://www.nexustek.nl/nx5000_real_sile ... supply.htm)
RAM: 2x1024MB DDR2 800 Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400C4 (http://www.corsair.com/corsair/products ... 6400C4.pdf)
Video: Asus EN7600GT Silent 256MB (http://www.asus.com/products.aspx?l1=2& ... odelmenu=1)
Fans: 1 CPU (OEM), 1 HDD (OEM), 1 case (12V, molex)

Powersaving mode power consumption measured from wall socket: 83W
Full-loaded (Super PI + rthdribl 1.2) power consumption from wall socket: max 140W
System stability tested by:
1) memtest86 for 12 hours
2) Super PI + rthdribl 1.2 for 30+ minutes
3) Nvidia stability test from Nvidia prformance tool for 30 min

Maximum system temps and volt, measured by Everest while grilling with Super PI and rthdribl (Room temp: 26C):

CPU core max: 62C
CPU temp max: 37C
Aux max: 65
Motherboard temp max: 39
GPU temp max: 63C
CPU Core volts: 1.11-1.27
+3.3 V min: 3.39,
+5 V min: 5.08
+12 V min: 12.13
VTR min: 3.28

So, I needed to install 500W PSU, because OEM 350W psu does not allow me to run the system with the case fan. Still, whole measured power consumption is under 200 watts.
If I take 140W for 12V, I'll have 11.7 Amps.


Return to “SCALEO”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest