Scaleo X - Is it possible to upgrade the graphic card?

SCALEO E, SCALEO H, SCALEO X, SCALEO L, SCALEO P

Moderator: ModTeam

User avatar
Nephitis
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 1:02
Product(s): Scaleo X
Contact:

Scaleo X - Is it possible to upgrade the graphic card?

Postby Nephitis » Thu Nov 30, 2006 17:45

Hello! I was wondering if my PSU can handle nVidia GeForce 8800 GTX

My Fujitsu-Siemens computer has the following specifications:

CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 5200+ AM2
Motherboard: Asus M2R-FVM
System RAM: 2048 MB (2GB) DDR2 PC2-4300 Dual Channel
Video/Graphiccard: ATI Radeon X1900 XT 512 MB
Sound: Creative Soundblaster X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty 7.1 + a front panel
Harddrive(s)/Storage: 2 x 250GB
Floppy drive: Yes
Media-reader: Yes
DVD-Roms: Yes, 2

This is already a quite powerful system that requires a PSU with good performance, and I was wondering if replacing the ATI Radeon X1900 XT graphic card with an nVidia 8800GTX graphic card will kill the PSU.

Thanks in advance!

Demokritos
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 8:39

Postby Demokritos » Fri Dec 01, 2006 20:19

You can open the computer case and have a look at the information given on your PSU directly regarding its capacity. Then compare with the power supply requirements for that graphics card.

User avatar
Nephitis
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 1:02
Product(s): Scaleo X
Contact:

Postby Nephitis » Wed Dec 06, 2006 23:08

There's a lable on the PSU that says "Do not exceeed 500 Watt". I don't know how good the PSU's are that Fujitsu Siemens Computer install in the computers they sell. My friend managed to run an nVidia GeForce 8800 GTS card (and I am thinking of getting this graphic card instead) on his system that runs on a 400 Watt Chieftec PSU, and the GFX card requires at least 450 Watt from a decent PSU.

I don't know how good my PSU from Fujitsu Siemens is compared to his PSU from Chieftec.


Return to “SCALEO”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest