Screen often saying "no signal" on boot

SCALEO E, SCALEO H, SCALEO X, SCALEO L, SCALEO P

Moderator: ModTeam

lindacse
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 12:30
Product(s): Scaleo (P?) MS-7293 Geforce 7950 GT

Screen often saying "no signal" on boot

Postby lindacse » Wed Dec 08, 2010 13:50

Often when we boot/reboot the screen says no signal and goes black. The computer sounds/seems to boot fine else. When the screen has gone black its blue diodes flash for some secs, stop for as long a time, flash again and so on...

And it works just fine all of a sudden when one reboots a lot, and we can't tell whether we've done something special different. It doesn't matter if it's a reboot or boot after standing off for a day or so.

I'm not to good at the system thing but it's a MS-7293 mb and Nvidia Geforce 7950 GT. (The screen is eeeh... fujitsu siemens... :P )

What part should be replaced? Would it help to switch graphics card? Or a new screen? Or something else?

Torvitas
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 08, 2010 15:59
Product(s): Esprimo P5905

Re: Screen often saying "no signal" on boot

Postby Torvitas » Thu Dec 09, 2010 19:22

Sounds tricky,

1.first you should test if the monitor work fine with another PC.

if it does: go on to step 2
if not: get a new monitor

2.
get another graphics card (if you have an old one test if it works with this one)

If the problem is still there post here again^^

User avatar
Dolphins72
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Aug 21, 2008 16:57
Product(s): Modified Scaleo Pa 2662
-------------------------------

MSI 785GTM-E45 Motherboard with Sockel AM2+/AM3 (AM3 ready)

AMD Phenom II X4 940 Quadcore (4 x 3,0 GHz --overclocked auf 3,6 GHz x 4)

Super Talents 4 GB DDR2 800 Mhz

Noctua-U9B SE2 CPU Kühler

Windows 7 32 Bit Home Premium Upgrade Version

AMD Radeon HD 5750 1GB 128 Speicherbus GDDR5

Cooler Master Elite 460 Watt Netzteil

Re: Screen often saying "no signal" on boot

Postby Dolphins72 » Mon Dec 20, 2010 16:32

Torvitas wrote:Sounds tricky,

1.first you should test if the monitor work fine with another PC.

if it does: go on to step 2
if not: get a new monitor

2.
get another graphics card (if you have an old one test if it works with this one)

If the problem is still there post here again^^


Dear Torvitas,

I would have to disagree with you here. Just because there is the message "NO SIGNAL" doesn't mean that the monitor is broken or that the graphics card doesn't work, do a little more researching BEFORE you try to help somebody here. First off, the signal could mean that the graphics card might not be properly connected with the monitor or that there are problems with the HDD and even the DVD-Rom connections.

The problem could be a number of things, the problem will be in finding the root of the problem:

-Graphics drivers haven't been properly DE-INSTALLED and the new ones NOT PROPERLY installed
-Mainboard problems (a defective motherboard)<-----worst case scenario! If it is the motherboard, buy a new one!
-RAM isn't working properly (take the RAM out and re-insert the modules, otherwise re-insert them differently)
-The connections from the hardware components to the motherboard are not properly "docked" (test and make sure all connections from motherboard to the hardware are correctly connected)
-Inform yourself which components are compatible WITH the motherboard (believe it or not even a power unit can cause problems with a motherboard)
-Last but least, call the support line from Fujitsu Siemens (I hope you still have a warranty on your product otherwise you'll be referred to an expensive hotline!)

Hope this could help somewhat. I had the problem with the "NO SIGNAL" and had to install a whole new motherboard! no regrets though, except that the support from Fujitsu Siemens sucks!

Wish you luck!!

Greetz

Dolphins72 :D


Return to “SCALEO”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest