[N560] WM6 on FS560 not "official"

Pocket LOOX

Moderator: ModTeam

Jolu_DTS
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2007 14:45

[N560] WM6 on FS560 not "official"

Postby Jolu_DTS » Tue Jul 31, 2007 15:00

Well,

It's going to be interesting to see how FS will explain to customers their decision about not upgrading 560 to WM6.

It seems to be that someone from http://www.4pda.ru just got it to work and conclusions are:

- Much better OS perfomance and speed
- More eficient battery usage
- GPS much faster

Unfortunately, my russian is none, but I keep trying.

If in any way this post goes against forum rules, feel free to delete it.

Regards.

User avatar
amater
Posts: 1075
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2002 1:01
Product(s): Lifebook E8020, Lifebook S7110, Amilo D7830, Amilo Pro V2030, Pocket LOOX N560, Scenic L, Scenic XS, Celsius M460
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Postby amater » Fri Aug 24, 2007 10:58

FSC decided to drop the Pocket PC business, that's why there will be no WM6 update for N560.
Share your knowledge...

Nobodies
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 10:46
Contact:

Postby Nobodies » Thu Aug 30, 2007 11:27

Two days ago I have succesfully upgrade my FS N560 to WM 6. I can say that my device becomes mutch faster. Ofcourse there are some bugs, but for me there was not any problems to solve it (registry editor needed).

PS

I still hope that official release of WM6 for FS N560 will be shared. I heard that it could be possible in september-november 2007 :roll:

lumex
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2006 0:12

Postby lumex » Thu Sep 06, 2007 23:12

Das ist wieder mal typisch Siemens :evil: . Wo nicht 100% Rendite anfällt, wird die Kundschaft im Stich gelassen.

Viele andere Hersteller, HP etc. bieten ein Ugrade für WM6 an.

leffetripel
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 14:40

Postby leffetripel » Tue Sep 25, 2007 1:44

works gr8!.
\"Today it's Mr. breaker\"

SAMmyC4
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jun 07, 2007 12:54
Location: bucharest
Contact:

Postby SAMmyC4 » Tue Oct 23, 2007 8:27

How did U do it? What tools did you use and where did U get a copy of WM6? Please post a tutorial!
Fujitsu-Siemens N560, 1GB SanDisk UltraII SD
Motorola V3x, 1GB SanDisk MicroSD (TransFlash)
Citroen C4 Coupe VTR 1.6i 16V 110BHP, Noir Obsidien

leffetripel
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 30, 2007 14:40

Postby leffetripel » Tue Oct 23, 2007 10:39

the link to the Russian forum:
4pda loox wm6 forum

a word of warning:
* this will erase your machine completely.
* backup software would not restore, for it is a different OS.
* this is still experimental, you are welcome to try.

just decompress the zipped files (Pups 0.0.1 by 777-Team) make sure that your pda is AS and power plugged in and run the PocketLOOX5xxFlashTool.exe.

there are also the original FSC software pack and original rom, you can flash back the original, i have tried and succeeded.

enjoy. :twisted:
\"Today it's Mr. breaker\"

Resquer
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 7:59
Product(s): FSC LOOX C550

Re: [N560] WM6 on FS560 not "official"

Postby Resquer » Mon Mar 24, 2008 8:04


ic240
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 10:18
Product(s): Loox N560

Re: [N560] WM6 on FS560 not "official"

Postby ic240 » Tue Mar 25, 2008 18:36

@Resquer

newer but also better?
Loox N560 + WM6.1 + GPS-3.6.0-Firmware, SDHC 16GB

Resquer
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2008 7:59
Product(s): FSC LOOX C550

Re: [N560] WM6 on FS560 not "official"

Postby Resquer » Wed Mar 26, 2008 15:21

@ ic240
Yes.

brian
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 17:57
Product(s): N560

Re: [N560] WM6 on FS560 not "official"

Postby brian » Thu Apr 17, 2008 18:35

HELP!
I upgraded my N560 to WM6 and now the GPS doesn´t work.
The GPS can´t find any satelittes.
Under Versions it stands 5.2.1908.
Schouldn´t it be 6.0 ???
The upgrade was succecfully.

B/R Brian

brian
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 17:57
Product(s): N560

Re: [N560] WM6 on FS560 not "official"

Postby brian » Fri Apr 18, 2008 18:21

The version is OK WM6.0.
I installed the GPS fix and changed some ports so now it´s working.

/Brian

brian
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2008 17:57
Product(s): N560

Re: [N560] WM6 on FS560 not "official"

Postby brian » Fri Apr 18, 2008 18:23

Has anybody tried the Version 6.1 ?
Is it much better than 6.0 ?

/Brian

db235
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Aug 23, 2008 23:44
Product(s): N560

Re: [N560] WM6 on FS560 not "official"

Postby db235 » Sat Aug 23, 2008 23:51

brian wrote:The version is OK WM6.0.
I installed the GPS fix and changed some ports so now it´s working.

/Brian


Could Yoo help me anybody, because I got the same result (the gps does not see the satelits). What is the exact name of the GPS fix program? Wher could I download it? How can I do the port changing? Sorry but I couldn't do it alone!

DB

Islandxp
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2006 16:00
Location: Germany

Re: [N560] WM6 on FS560 not "official"

Postby Islandxp » Tue Sep 02, 2008 7:08

Hello DB25


db235 wrote:Could Yoo help me anybody, because I got the same result (the gps does not see the satelits). What is the exact name of the GPS fix program? Wher could I download it? How can I do the port changing? Sorry but I couldn't do it alone!


What exactly have you loaded? And in what sequence?

Quick GPS from FSC ?.. there are two sections, first the flash of the ROM, and secondly the Quick GPS Program. Both loaded?

Which WM6.o version?

Having this info I can probably help you further

Dietrich


Return to “Handhelds (PDA)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron