Primergy TX140 S1p 64GB RAM possible ?

PRIMERGY, SPARC Enterprise Server, PRIMEFLEX, PRIMEPower, BS2000

Moderator: ModTeam

tofa6407
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2020 18:26
Product(s): Primergy TX140S1p

Primergy TX140 S1p 64GB RAM possible ?

Postby tofa6407 » Mon Jun 22, 2020 20:15

Hi All!

I have been using a Primergy TX140 S1p server for my homelab the last 6 years or so.
The server is way out of warranty but still works very good.
Current Spec.
1x Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E3-1220 V2 @ 3.10GHz
4x 8GB DDR3 / UDIMM = 32GB
4 x SSD / 4x SAS HDD

Even though I know it's not supported...I wonder if anyone can give me any indications if it will work to upgrade this server to 4x 16GB DDR3/UDIMM = 64GB
I find it a bit to expensive to take a chance and buy 4x16GB without knowing it will work.
I suppose it will but thought I'd ask the experts here first.

Br / Tony

me@work
Posts: 974
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 15:32
Product(s): Scaleo Pi2662, Primergy

Re: Primergy TX140 S1p 64GB RAM possible ?

Postby me@work » Tue Jun 23, 2020 17:22

I suppose it won't, after checking the two links below:
Intel's website on E5-1220 v2
Fujitsu's datasheet on TX140s1p
Both state that with the hardware given, the max amount of mem is in fact 32GB.

Of course, you might still take a chance as mentioned...


Return to “Server Products”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest