RX300 & QLE2460

PRIMERGY, SPARC Enterprise Server, PRIMEFLEX, PRIMEPower, BS2000

Moderator: ModTeam

papali
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2017 13:43
Product(s): Primergy RX300 S8
Esprimo P420 E85+

RX300 & QLE2460

Postby papali » Thu Jul 13, 2017 14:06

Hi all, I have a Primergy RX300 S8 with a QLogic QLE2460, on VMware 5.5 the HBA is visible nel tab "Storage Adapter" but I do not see the storage attached.

This HBA on a Dell PE2950 detects storage, using the same cables, fc ports on the switch, etc.

Question: Does anyone this combination work? I know the HBA 2460 is not in the HCL of the RX300, but this list excludes it completely? If so why vmware detects it automatically?

Thanks

me@work
Posts: 868
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 15:32
Product(s): Scaleo Pi2662, Primergy

Re: RX300 & QLE2460

Postby me@work » Thu Jul 13, 2017 21:10

Does the Dell run the same version of of vSphere ESXi 5.5?

How exactly do you determine that you do not actually "see" the storage?

Did yoou perhaps accidentally check the ESXi logs after perfoming an HBA rescan?

Of course, the HCL does not automatically exclude any non-listed products from operation; it only describes what has been tested, and for which components/combinations you might be able to get support for.
Furthermore, it's not "VMware" that detects the card; it's rather the driver being used that finds the card. If the Dell runs ESXi, too, you might want to be interested in determining any possible differences in the drivers being used for the card, both in the Dell and the FTS machine...

papali
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2017 13:43
Product(s): Primergy RX300 S8
Esprimo P420 E85+

Re: RX300 & QLE2460

Postby papali » Wed Jul 19, 2017 11:18

Hi me@work, thanks for your reply.

Both servers use vmware esxi 5.5 b4722766.
After a "Rescan all" and "Refresh" in the tab Configuration, Storage Adapters, the list with the devices is still empty in the Host4.

I attach a image of the logs, Host1 is ok, Host4 not ok.

The version of the driver in both servers is:

VMware_ComponentSoftwareIdentity.InstanceID="VMware:VMware_bootbank_qlnativefc_1.0.12.0-1vmw.550.0.0.1331820"
InstanceID = VMware:VMware_bootbank_qlnativefc_1.0.12.0-1vmw.550.0.0.1331820
TargetOSTypes = { 104, }
IsLargeBuildNumber = true
ExtendedResourceType = 10
Manufacturer = VMware
ReleaseDate = 20130919060640.475266+000
InstallDate = 20160223170735.659789+000
Description = QLogic Native FC driver for vmkernel
VersionString = 1.0.12.0-1vmw.550.0.0.1331820
IsEntity = true
Caption = qlnativefc
ElementName = qlnativefc

I used the command "/usr/lib/vmware/vm-support/bin/swfw.sh"

Thanks 1000 for any help!
Attachments
log-host4-after-rescan.png
log-host4-after-rescan.png (67.07 KiB) Viewed 283 times
log-host1-after-rescan.png
log-host1-after-rescan.png (76.76 KiB) Viewed 283 times
host-storage-adapters.png
host-storage-adapters.png (29.55 KiB) Viewed 283 times

me@work
Posts: 868
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 15:32
Product(s): Scaleo Pi2662, Primergy

Re: RX300 & QLE2460

Postby me@work » Wed Jul 19, 2017 18:50

Well, the screenshot log-host1-after-rescan.png doesn't depict any related detected devices (or any information about vmhba3), either...

Could you show "esxcli storage core adapter list", please?
Twice, of course.

papali
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 12, 2017 13:43
Product(s): Primergy RX300 S8
Esprimo P420 E85+

Re: RX300 & QLE2460

Postby papali » Tue Jul 25, 2017 9:04

I resolved!! so: on the host1 (Dell) I had never installed any qlogic drivers and this however detected the storage, on the host4 (Fujitsu) I thought I should work the same, but no.... I downloaded the HBA drives of the QLogic site, I installed, restarted the host and immediately found the storage.
What seems strange to me is that, as I posted before, the information on FC, HBA drivers on both servers seemed to me the same...

Thanks 1000 for your help!!!


Return to “Server Products”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest