Primergy RX200 S7 Memory 96Gb Problem

PRIMERGY, SPARC Enterprise Server, PRIMEFLEX, PRIMEPower, BS2000

Moderator: ModTeam

igorwhite
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 10:46
Product(s): PRIMERGY RX200 S7

Primergy RX200 S7 Memory 96Gb Problem

Postby igorwhite » Wed Nov 04, 2015 14:27

Hello!
In Primergy RX200 S7 install one cpu Xeon E5-2687W
Installed 96GB of memory --- is determined only by the 72GB
What am i doing wrong?
Best Regards Igor.
Last edited by igorwhite on Wed Nov 04, 2015 15:57, edited 1 time in total.

Davie
Posts: 567
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2005 0:01
Product(s): PRIMERGY, ServerView
Location: UK

Re: Primergy RX200 S7 Memory 96Gb

Postby Davie » Wed Nov 04, 2015 14:35

Which slots have you put the DIMMs in and what size are the DIMMs?

igorwhite
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 10:46
Product(s): PRIMERGY RX200 S7

Re: Primergy RX200 S7 Memory 96Gb

Postby igorwhite » Wed Nov 04, 2015 14:40

12 slot -- 8gb

Davie
Posts: 567
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2005 0:01
Product(s): PRIMERGY, ServerView
Location: UK

Re: Primergy RX200 S7 Memory 96Gb

Postby Davie » Wed Nov 04, 2015 14:43

Yes but WHICH slots - what is your population order? Are the DIMMs UDIMMs or RDIMMs?

igorwhite
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 10:46
Product(s): PRIMERGY RX200 S7

Re: Primergy RX200 S7 Memory 96Gb

Postby igorwhite » Wed Nov 04, 2015 14:49

Sorry I have little experience
Memory Samsung
8GB 2Rx4 PC3-12800R-11-11E2-P2
M393B1K70DH0-CK0

Davie
Posts: 567
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2005 0:01
Product(s): PRIMERGY, ServerView
Location: UK

Re: Primergy RX200 S7 Memory 96Gb

Postby Davie » Wed Nov 04, 2015 15:39

ok ok ok .. but WHICH slots are they installed in??? What numbers? 1A, 1B etc?

igorwhite
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 10:46
Product(s): PRIMERGY RX200 S7

Re: Primergy RX200 S7 Memory 96Gb

Postby igorwhite » Wed Nov 04, 2015 15:52


igorwhite
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 10:46
Product(s): PRIMERGY RX200 S7

Re: Primergy RX200 S7 Memory 96Gb Problem

Postby igorwhite » Wed Nov 04, 2015 17:19

I pulled all the memory and began to install 2 memory strip.
Every time rebooting, I added 2 strips of memory and so I decided all memory 96gb.
Only frequency 1066?

me@work
Posts: 949
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 15:32
Product(s): Scaleo Pi2662, Primergy

Re: Primergy RX200 S7 Memory 96Gb Problem

Postby me@work » Thu Nov 05, 2015 9:09

What's the intended meaning of "decided" in this context?
After filling up the memory slots with DIMM pairs, do you now get reported the complete 96GB, as desired?

igorwhite wrote:Only frequency 1066?

Yes, sure. If you'd like to test, you could try once again with only one to four modules (in 1A,1B,1C, 1D, ie. first of three slots for each of the four channels), and you'll get a higher speed (if the used modules and CPU allow that, as I presume).
Reason is the number (and type) of DIMMs on a single channel, which causes the CPU's internal memory controller to switch to lower frequencies, due to electrical constraints (capacitance etc.).

igorwhite
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 10:46
Product(s): PRIMERGY RX200 S7

Re: Primergy RX200 S7 Memory 96Gb Problem

Postby igorwhite » Thu Nov 05, 2015 9:55

me@work
1. Yes
2. Install in 1A 2A 1B 2B 1D 2D 1C 2C 1600Mhz

igorwhite
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 10:46
Product(s): PRIMERGY RX200 S7

Re: Primergy RX200 S7 Memory 96Gb Problem

Postby igorwhite » Thu Nov 05, 2015 10:06

me@work wrote:Reason is the number (and type) of DIMMs on a single channel, which causes the CPU's internal memory controller to switch to lower frequencies, due to electrical constraints (capacitance etc.).

It can be turned off?

me@work
Posts: 949
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 15:32
Product(s): Scaleo Pi2662, Primergy

Re: Primergy RX200 S7 Memory 96Gb Problem

Postby me@work » Thu Nov 05, 2015 10:33

No.

As I wrote, it's electrical, physical contraints.

Only option is to use fewer modules, ie. only two modules per channel, as you already found yourself.

In case you'd decide to go for fewer modules with higher capacity, please make sure that you get dual rank 16GB modules, as quad rank 16GB LRDIMMs will ALWAYS be run at 1066.

igorwhite
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2015 10:46
Product(s): PRIMERGY RX200 S7

Re: Primergy RX200 S7 Memory 96Gb Problem

Postby igorwhite » Thu Nov 05, 2015 11:06

me@work
Many thanks! I got it!


Return to “Server Products”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests